ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - 3600x, X470 Taichi, b-die, unstable memory, WHEA
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

3600x, X470 Taichi, b-die, unstable memory, WHEA

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 7>
Author
Message
Rpeck View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jul 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Rpeck Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 2019 at 12:05am
Having the same issue, with a 3800X has anyone found a solution? I put in a support ticket with ASRock, but no reply yet.
Back to Top
mmf View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Jul 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mmf Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 2019 at 12:17am
Originally posted by Rpeck Rpeck wrote:

Having the same issue, with a 3800X has anyone found a solution? I put in a support ticket with ASRock, but no reply yet.


They are testing a new bios through support which fixed memory clock issues for me.
However I still get WHEA errors and resets in Windows and also during boot. Hopefully a fix from AMD for these asap.
Back to Top
Max9R View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jul 2019
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Max9R Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 2019 at 6:33am
Same problem for me, I was thinking the 3600X was just a dud, but started finding that I wasn't the only one with this problem.

BIOS 3.43 is fine with a 2400G (bought to hold me over to Ryzen 3000), G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200C14D 2x16GB kit, Radeon 5700XT, and runs perfectly stable. Put in the 3600X and it's a complete joke. BSOD constantly, Watchdog timeouts, driver power state failure, WHEA uncorrectable errors, etc...

I've been building PC's for 30+ years, this is by far the worst upgrade experience I've ever had. BTW it's not just ASRock either, I have an MSI B450 Tomahawk and it's just as bad if not worse. Half the time it won't even post with their latest BIOS version 7C02v18.

I have a 3900X coming on Tuesday, and it appears, nothing to put it in. That said, if it magically works in both boards, then my 3600X is getting RMA'ed but some how I seriously doubt that's going to happen.
Back to Top
Rpeck View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jul 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Rpeck Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jul 2019 at 12:33am
How do I get ahold of this BIOS? Is it hosted as BETA bios anywhere?
Back to Top
Rpeck View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jul 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Rpeck Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jul 2019 at 12:35am
Originally posted by mmf mmf wrote:

Originally posted by Rpeck Rpeck wrote:

Having the same issue, with a 3800X has anyone found a solution? I put in a support ticket with ASRock, but no reply yet.


They are testing a new bios through support which fixed memory clock issues for me.
However I still get WHEA errors and resets in Windows and also during boot. Hopefully a fix from AMD for these asap.


How do I get ahold of this BIOS? I opened a ticket a couple days ago via email and haven't heard anything back, besides the auto-reply
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 706
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jul 2019 at 1:44am
https://shop.jzelectronic.de
is often offering (beta) bios files which are not seen on the official page(s).

And J Zis also member of this forum here.
Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
mmf View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Jul 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mmf Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jul 2019 at 1:51am
Also check pm.
I'm going to try this possible temp. solution:
https://www.overclock.net/forum/28041614-post5356.html

Back to Top
AsRx470Tc View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Jul 2019
Location: Finland
Status: Offline
Points: 33
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AsRx470Tc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jul 2019 at 5:22am
Originally posted by Max9R Max9R wrote:

Same problem for me, I was thinking the 3600X was just a dud, but started finding that I wasn't the only one with this problem.

BIOS 3.43 is fine with a 2400G (bought to hold me over to Ryzen 3000), G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200C14D 2x16GB kit, Radeon 5700XT, and runs perfectly stable. Put in the 3600X and it's a complete joke. BSOD constantly, Watchdog timeouts, driver power state failure, WHEA uncorrectable errors, etc...

I've been building PC's for 30+ years, this is by far the worst upgrade experience I've ever had. BTW it's not just ASRock either, I have an MSI B450 Tomahawk and it's just as bad if not worse. Half the time it won't even post with their latest BIOS version 7C02v18.

I have a 3900X coming on Tuesday, and it appears, nothing to put it in. That said, if it magically works in both boards, then my 3600X is getting RMA'ed but some how I seriously doubt that's going to happen.


They pulled the 3.43 version of from the site for a while, and then it appeared back again later.. i think they removed support for 3000 series from it because on a Ryzen 3 1200 i used to update my board i could see it, but on my 3600X it doesn't show up at all. Thanfully i only went for 3.40, no such problems on that.

So if you were fast enough to update it with the older release, that might be the problem.

Just speculations tho...
Back to Top
edlebert View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Jul 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 41
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote edlebert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jul 2019 at 5:39am
For those with 3200C14 ram experiencing issues, try 3000. It worked for me.
Back to Top
mmf View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Jul 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mmf Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jul 2019 at 5:44am
The temp. fix posted at overclock.net is working so far, for me up to 3066 memory clock with 1533 IF clock!

https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-amd-motherboards/1627407-asrock-x370-taichi-overclocking-thread-536.html
See the post from Boxman.

Manually select the Infinity Fabric clock to match your memory. This fixes BSOD for me, but only up to 3066/1533. At 3400/1700 my system resets again and there is a big performance loss in Cinebench.

I can also send beta bios over PM if needed.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 7>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.140 seconds.