ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - NVME SSD not detected after Ryzen 3900x swap
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

NVME SSD not detected after Ryzen 3900x swap

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message
unsungloser View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Jul 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote unsungloser Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: NVME SSD not detected after Ryzen 3900x swap
    Posted: 12 Jul 2019 at 10:19am
Swapped my 2700x to 3900x. Posted. Won?t boot. Looks like the bios is not detecting the NVME SSD which was perfectly fine before the upgrade. Reseated SSD. Still not detected. Something wrong with the bios or the CPU? Please help!
Back to Top
unsungloser View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Jul 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote unsungloser Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jul 2019 at 11:09am
Changed back to 2700x. NVME SSD detected without issues. Did I get a defective processor? Or is the bios messed up?
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 677
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jul 2019 at 12:57pm
clear cmos everytime you swap something in & out always been the norm see if that helps
Back to Top
Boxman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 12 Oct 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Boxman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jul 2019 at 5:07pm
Maybe the motherboard is trying to run the NVME in PCIe4.0 mode. In the BIOS, under AMD PBS, set "M.2 PCIe" to "Gen 3" or "Gen 2", see if that helps.
Back to Top
edlebert View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Jul 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 41
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote edlebert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jul 2019 at 8:11pm
I experienced the same issue with my AB350 gaming ITX and a Crucial MX500 (m.2, SATA). Which motherboard and which SSD are you using?
Back to Top
unsungloser View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Jul 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote unsungloser Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jul 2019 at 9:02pm
I have the WD NVME. MB is x370 fatality gaming itx/ac. I changed to gen 1 and gen 2. No dice. The BIOS detects the NVME with the 2700x. Must be some setting related to the 3900x causing the issue.
Back to Top
Boxman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 12 Oct 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Boxman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jul 2019 at 9:22pm
Well for what it's worth, none of my manual PCI-e settings seem to be sticking either. I cannot for the life of me get my GPU to run Gen2. X370 Taichi.
Back to Top
aeghee8C View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 12 Jul 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote aeghee8C Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jul 2019 at 11:57pm
I can confirm it, however I use SATA disk over m.2.

Asrock B450 ITX, Ryzen 3700x, m.2 SATA MX500 SSD not being detected, if I swap CPU back to Zen+ (2700) it does work.

It appears that AGESA 1.0.0.1 bundled with latest bios 3.30 does not fully support Ryzen 3000/Zen 2 CPUs.
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 706
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jul 2019 at 2:48am
If you didn't get it: The current bios firmware for ALL pre x570 boards with AGESA Combo-AM4 1.0.0.1 are not finished yet! They just are good enough to see, if the Zen2 CPUs are running as a basic principle, nothing else.
Even on X570 boards, the firmware is still Beta.
We can hope, that AGESA Combo-AM4 1.0.0.3ab or higher is solving all the problems.
So wait until AMD and then Asrock are delivering in addition...

Use your 2700X meanwhile, don't give it away this time!
Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
unsungloser View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Jul 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote unsungloser Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jul 2019 at 5:45am
That?s sad. I hope ASRock knows about it and are working on a patched bios. Can anyone from ASRock chime in?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.250 seconds.