ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Ryzen 3000 series support
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Ryzen 3000 series support

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 108>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 9218
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Ryzen 3000 series support
    Posted: 13 Aug 2021 at 11:24pm
The 3400g is listed as supported with a BIOS update on all the ASRock B550 boards
listed on the website. From what I understand support was only not included for
space considerations on the ROM chip that contains the BIOS. ASRock appears to have
found a way to cut down the BIOS size and include support for a broader range of
CPUs, that or AMD's AGESA code was optimized and shrunk in size.

Regardless, if your board has the requisite BIOS version or newer it will work
with the 3400g. There would be a lot of complaints and reports of false advertizing
if it were not the case
Back to Top
Coix View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2021
Location: Hungary
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Coix Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Aug 2021 at 11:05pm
Hi,

The CPU compatibility list of B550M-ITX/ac motherboard is a bit confusing.

In the general description of the motherboard it is noted that "*Not compatible with AMD Ryzen 5 3400G and Ryzen 3 3200G". This is quite normal, B550 chipset are usually not compatible with 3400G.

However, in the CPU support list, 3400G is listed, as supported from BIOS v1.70.

I assume that the CPU support list is more up-to-date, but can someone please confirm that this motherboard can actually work with 3400G.

Thanks in advance!
Back to Top
linuxuser View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 May 2021
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote linuxuser Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 May 2021 at 9:15pm

Hello,

Recently, I've purchased a Ryzen 3700x processor, where I'm coming from an older 1700. I upgrated my Asrock Fatal1ty x370 Gaming X mobo to the latest BIOS (ver 6.00) which you can find here https://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/Fatal1ty%20X370%20Gaming%20X/index.asp#BIOS

On Linux, everything works flawlessly. The only weird thing I could've find is that when you query cpu's capabilities:

- 'lscpu' gives: CPU max MHz 5224.2178 (which is incorrec)
- 'lshw -c cpu' gives 5.2GHz (incorrect)
- 'dmidecode -t processor' shows 4.4Ghz instead!! (which is correct)

Right now, when I watch for frequencies, they are normal (from 2.2Ghz to 4.2Ghz) when I compute via OpenMP or just on gaming.

I checked P-States via zenstates.py script and these are right, from 2.2Ghz to 3.6Ghz.

So the question is: how come it marks 5.2GHz as the maximum frequency? Is it just a minor bug?

The feeling I got tells me that I don't have to care, but I ask you cos' you maybe saw something related to this issue.

Thanks in advance. Greetings
Back to Top
PelaAsrock View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Oct 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 94
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PelaAsrock Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 May 2021 at 4:14am
Board model: B550 PG itx/ax
BIOS version: P 2.10
CPU: 3900x
RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK32GX4M2D3600C18 32Gb

ISSUE

Any BIOS above 1.10 (that I know are more focused on the 5000 series) gives me primarly problems when I start my PC from a Cold Boot or when re starting it. It will crash when trying to initiate windows, if I enter in SAFE MODE I can restart and everything seems fine, no issues while using it.

I will try what happens if I disable XMP on my RAM with the newer BIOS like the latest I have now installed.Yet I don't want to resign that extra frecuency.

It's annoying because I really want to use some of the newer features that new BIOS brings to the table like SAM for instance and I can only manage stability while starting my PC with 1.10 Bios or prior ones.
Back to Top
StefaanC View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Feb 2021
Location: Belgium
Status: Offline
Points: 110
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote StefaanC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Feb 2021 at 11:37pm
If a bios falls back to default, keep an eye on the battery.
Boards stay sometimes long at the dealer and I always swap the battery whith a new board.
Back to Top
apocalypseCow View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Feb 2021
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote apocalypseCow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Feb 2021 at 10:47am
I have an x570 Taichi and am attempting to use some external risers to power some extra GPUs. The PCI-E GEN 4.0 speeds are not supported by the risers, so I need to lower all of the PCI-E socket speeds to 3.0 or less.

I have tested on BIOS 3.8 and 4.0, and am UNABLE to change the speed of the BOTTOM PCI-E slot (PCIE5) which I know is controlled by the x570 Chipset.

The BIOS has several options under the ADVANCED -> AMD PBS Menu related to this:

PCIe x16 Bus Interface
PCIe x8 Bus Interface
Chipset Bus Interface

I tested by plugging an NVIDIA 3090/3080 into ALL of the slots simultaneously.

The TOP GPU slot was changed by the BIOS option x16 bus interface. Makes sense, (GEN1-4) all reported correctly in GPU-Z after the change.

The MIDDLE GPU slot was changed by the BIOS option 'x8 bus interface'. Also makes sense. Worked as expected.

The BOTTOM GPU slot (PCIE5 on the mobo) NEVER CHANGED despite every setting attempt I tried. I assumed the "Chipset Bus Interface" would control this slot, but switching it between GEN1-GEN4 had no affect. The slot always reported as PCI-E GEN 4.0 in GPU-Z after testing. The other settings mentioned above also had NO AFFECT on the BOTTOM GPU slot.

At the moment this is limiting my ability to connect additional GPU's to my x570 board as the the bottom GPU SLOT (AND all x1 slots) seem STUCK on GEN 4.0 PCIE.

Is the BIOS broken? I assumed "Chipset Bus Interface" would be the right setting I needed to change, but it did not work.

Did this ever work in older versions? I've only tried BIOS 3.8 and 4.0.

Is there a control that can be added for this? Can anyone from ASRock please help here?

Thanks very much for your time.

BIOS Settings Page when selection a Bus Interface:


Setting them all to GEN1 shows the problem clearly:


WHILE running a program on all cards to ensure full load, checking PCIE gen speeds via GPU-Z shows that the 3080 (in BOTTOM GPU SLOT, PCIE5) is locked at PCIE gen 4.0. No combination of settings could change this, I tried them all.

Back to Top
IsacVries View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16 Feb 2021
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote IsacVries Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Feb 2021 at 11:44pm
Hi....all core boost doesn't give off an impression of being broken. I can control the all center lift with voltage and temperature. Essentially bringing down the central processor temperature can build all-center lift. Once more, we are not discussing all-center lift. This string is talking about the Ryzen 3000 Boost Issue which doesn't include all-center lift. Frankly, it is baffling to have a discussion about single center lift in accordance with the subject when you keep raise all center lift. It isn't on subject and not pertinent to the current issue.
Back to Top
abralex View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 Dec 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote abralex Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Dec 2020 at 6:31pm
or may be 4S...
Back to Top
abralex View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 Dec 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote abralex Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Dec 2020 at 5:14pm
Hi there.
do anybody know about supporting "rysen 3350g pro" chip and PRO functionality on "X570 Phantom Gaming 4"?
Back to Top
Dizo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Dec 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dizo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Dec 2020 at 10:31pm
Board model: X570 Extreme 4
BIOS version: 3.50 (Combo-AM4 V2 1.1.0.0 patch D.) & 3.31 (ComboAM4v2 1.1.0.0 Patch C)
CPU: Ryzen 5 3600
RAM: 2x16GB (BLS16G4D32AESB.M16FE)

UEFI update from 2.80 to 3.50 resulted in system continual random power downs within minutes of each other. Troubleshooting: I cut power to the mainboard and placed a jumper on the clear cmos jumper then loaded bios defaults. Set my XMP profile to what it was on 2.80 (which ran fine for many months without issue) however system continued to randomly power off / restart. Next, I downgraded to 3.31, performed all the same steps, however system was still not stable and same results. I reverted back to 2.80, set all settings consistent with 3.50 and 3.31 and no longer experience issues with random power downs and reboots. I would like to upgrade this board to utilize Ryzen 5000 processors while I have a 3600 installed (as believe this is the only way you can do it). Why are the UEFI updates causing such instability with my board when the settings / hardware are not changing between UEFI updates?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 108>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.064 seconds.