ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - AB350M Pro4 NVME drive problem
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

AB350M Pro4 NVME drive problem

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
dmn View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Dec 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dmn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: AB350M Pro4 NVME drive problem
    Posted: 17 Dec 2019 at 4:17pm
Hello,

Recently I've purchased m.2 NVME drive for my system(Ryzen 5 1600, AB350M Pro4), and encountered the following problem. With the drive installed my system seemingly hangs after displaying A0 code. If I remove the drive, it boots fine.
I've tried resetting bios, disconnecting my hard drive and trying to boot with just a bootable usb stick. Eventually upgraded my bios to the latest beta version(was originally on 5.80, since I used 200ge for a while). That still didn't sovle my problem.
Naturally I assumed that m.2 drive was faulty, but first decided to check it on my co-worker's board, and it booted without a hitch.
So now I'm assuming the problem is related to my motherboard. But before trying to RMA it, I'd like to exhaust all my options.
Did anyone encounter similar issues? Is there something else I could try? Could it be because of using newer bios versions, not exactky fit for older CPU's?
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 706
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Dec 2019 at 8:55pm
What NVME drive are you using?
And just to be sure:
M2_1 supports NVME PCIe Gen3 x4
M2_2 supports M.2 SATA3 only

Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
dmn View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Dec 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dmn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Dec 2019 at 11:05pm
M2_1 is the one I tried to use.
As for the drive itself it's a branded product of our local reseller, which you probably never heard about. Based on Phison PS5013-E13T controller and Toshiba memory. Not an uncommon combo, I suppose.
I do understand that it's not on the list of supported models, but then the list is rather small. So picking many other drives would've been a gamble as well.
Question is whether it's a gamble that didn't pay off, in which case, no promblem, I can still return the drive and try again with a different one.
Or is it some harware/firmware problem on mobo side.
The drive did boot on another mobo and I'm pretty sure it's not on QVL there either.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.148 seconds.