ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Random windows 10 and chrome freezing on B450
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Random windows 10 and chrome freezing on B450

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Norbinarius View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Apr 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Norbinarius Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Random windows 10 and chrome freezing on B450
    Posted: 10 Apr 2020 at 6:28am
Hi, everyone! A month ago i managed to change whole platform to AM4 socket (new MB, RAM, CPU, Cooling system), First of all, when i pluged all components in, i didn't reinstalled the windows 10 for 2 weeks and all worked fine (win 10 was installed on previous MB with Intel chipset). Then i wanted to reinstall windows to be able activate ultra fast boot option in bios, and that's there the problems has started.

First of all i wasn't able to install windows 10 at all, it was BSOD'ing everytime on random point of file unpacking, i tried 5 different USB-drives and 3 different ISO-files. After that, somehow, i did it, but everytime after boot into startup screen windows BSOD'ed after 2-3 minutes of using.

So i managed to launch it in a safe mode and installed AMD chipset drivers. The problem almost gone (Windows not BSOD'ing at all), but now there random dead freezes of system or web-browser (when system freezes happends i need to manaualy shut the PC down). So i wonder if there is any solution for that.

I also updated BIOS from 3.90 to 4.10 before windows reinstall and maybe that's the main problem, so can i rollback to 3.90?

Here is system config:
AMD Ryzen 3500
ASrock B450 Pro4
2x8 HyperX Fury 2666Mhz (HX426C16FB3K2/16)

The bios settings on defaults (except ultra fast mode).
I also tested RAM and SSD on issues.
Back to Top
ThreeDee View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jul 2019
Location: Billings,MT
Status: Offline
Points: 2396
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ThreeDee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Apr 2020 at 7:35am
using XMP profile? A2/B2 slots for RAM? Have you tried turning off Ultra fast mode? You could flash back to the 3.90 BIOS if you want .. generally there is a warning with BIOS revisions stating that once you flash, you're stuck with this revision until another new one comes out.
|Ryzen 5 5900|ASRock X570 Taichi-BIOS 4.60|2x16GB HyperX Predator RGB 3200@3600 1:1 IF|ASRock RX 6700XT|2 x PCIe 4.0 M.2 Drives for OS & Games|850 WTT Seasonic 80+ Titanium PSU|Noctua NH-D15|
Back to Top
Norbinarius View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Apr 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Norbinarius Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Apr 2020 at 11:37pm
1. Yes, RAM in the A2/B2 slots.
2. I'm not using XMP profile for RAM, all BIOS parameters set upped on "Auto".





3. Will it make much difference if i will change it to XMP profile?


Back to Top
ThreeDee View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jul 2019
Location: Billings,MT
Status: Offline
Points: 2396
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ThreeDee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Apr 2020 at 12:03am
Try it and see ... alternatively .. if still having issues, keep memory to auto and manually set speed to 2400 and see if that helps .. manually set memory voltage to 1.350 as well
|Ryzen 5 5900|ASRock X570 Taichi-BIOS 4.60|2x16GB HyperX Predator RGB 3200@3600 1:1 IF|ASRock RX 6700XT|2 x PCIe 4.0 M.2 Drives for OS & Games|850 WTT Seasonic 80+ Titanium PSU|Noctua NH-D15|
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.141 seconds.