ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > HTPC&Gaming Barebone&Others
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - [Help!] Asrock B450m Steel Legend
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

[Help!] Asrock B450m Steel Legend

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Boygetout View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Apr 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Boygetout Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: [Help!] Asrock B450m Steel Legend
    Posted: 14 Apr 2020 at 1:41pm
Hey, I recently bought a 970 EVO drive for my computer and windows or my bios won't detect it, I've put it in the Ultra M.2 slot and I don't know what to do. Please help.

Specs
Motherboard : B450m Steel Legend
CPU : Ryzen 7 3700x
GPU : RTX 2060
RAM : 2 x 8 2133 (2133) G.Skill Trident Z
Bios Version : 2.90
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 15108
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Apr 2020 at 3:59pm
Which M.2 slot did you try? You need to use the M2_1 slot for NVME drives.
Back to Top
Boygetout View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Apr 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Boygetout Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Apr 2020 at 4:07pm
I used the top M.2 slot, the one that says Ultra M.2
Back to Top
Boygetout View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Apr 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Boygetout Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Apr 2020 at 4:18pm
I did also try the bottom slot and still no bios recognition.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 15108
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Apr 2020 at 6:21pm
Check this thread:

http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=1236&KW=NVME+as+boot&PN=1&title=how-to-install-windows-on-a-pcie-ssd

I am afraid I have not used NVME drives with my systems so can't offer much more
than I already have as advice.
Back to Top
Boygetout View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Apr 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Boygetout Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Apr 2020 at 11:51pm
Still no help. Someone please help me, I'm starting to think that the SSD might be broken or my motherboard M.2 slot isn't working.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 15108
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Apr 2020 at 11:59pm
Did you read the thread I linked? It covers your exact problem multiple times.
Back to Top
Boygetout View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Apr 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Boygetout Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Apr 2020 at 1:46am
Yes, I read the thread. I'm still saying that I tried the solutions and they never worked.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 15108
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Apr 2020 at 2:45am
You can try cleaning the contacts in the slot with some isopropyl alcohol and a
cotton bud, also clean the contacts on the drive itself. When clean make sure the
M.2 drive is fully inserted into the slot and give it another go. If that still
fails you can try returning the drive. If you have another system to test it in
that would be even better.
Back to Top
Hammerfest View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Jun 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 21
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hammerfest Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jun 2020 at 5:32am
I would say either a bad M.2 or bad M.2 slot, sadly, easiest way is to get a cheap-o $30 NVMe and test

I have 2 of these with customers (and the older b350m pro 4 as well) and no issues so far (knock on wood)
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.125 seconds.