ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - AM4 BIOS info
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

AM4 BIOS info

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 789
Author
Message
Zett View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Jul 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 49
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zett Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 4:28pm
BIOS version: 3.70
CPU: 3700X
RAM: 2 x 8GB Crucial/Micron BLE8G4D36BEEAK.M8FE1

Notes:

Originally posted by Zett Zett wrote:


Finally, everything seems to be working!


After prolonged testing, I have to say that it's still not right. The sound crackles in the games. When watching youtube, the sound is fine. During gaming, the computer sometimes restarts. VDDCR_SOC Voltage is always set to fixed. So we have another scum in line.

Zett
Back to Top
PelaAsrock View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Oct 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 64
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PelaAsrock Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 May 2021 at 4:11am
Board model: B550 PG itx/ax
BIOS version: P 2.10
CPU: 3900x
RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK32GX4M2D3600C18 32Gb

Notes: Any BIOS above 1.10 (that I know are more focused on the 5000 series) gives me primarly problems when I start my PC from a Cold Boot or when re starting it. It will crash when trying to initiate windows, if I enter in SAFE MODE I can restart and everything seems fine. No issues while using it.
I will try what happens if I disable XMP on my RAM with the newer BIOS like the latest I have now installed.
It's annoying because I really want to use some of the newer features that new BIOS brings to the table like SAM for instance and I can only manage stability while starting my PC with 1.10 Bios or prior ones.
Back to Top
ThreeDee View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jul 2019
Location: Billings,MT
Status: Offline
Points: 1226
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ThreeDee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 May 2021 at 4:25am
some have reported that Corsair RAM needs extra voltage above 1.35v to run XMP stable
|Ryzen 5 5600x|ASRock X570 Taichi-BIOS 4.30|2x16GB HyperX Predator RGB 3200@3600 1:1 IF|ASRock RX 5700XT|2 x PCIe 4.0 M.2 Drives for OS & Games|850 WTT Seasonic 80+ Titanium PSU|Noctua NH-D15|
Back to Top
PelaAsrock View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Oct 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 64
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PelaAsrock Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 May 2021 at 4:30am
Originally posted by ThreeDee ThreeDee wrote:

some have reported that Corsair RAM needs extra voltage above 1.35v to run XMP stable


I think it might be RAM related, I still didn't try it without XMP.

Yet it would be sthg to be solved if it's the case since with the older BIOS up to the 1.10 version, I have no problem at all enabling XMP with my PC functioning without hassle.

Back to Top
PelaAsrock View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Oct 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 64
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PelaAsrock Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 May 2021 at 4:35am
BTW ThreeDee

How did you add your RIG in your firm? I can't find where can I modify my Profile, neither I can find a button to edit my posts, that's why I have to make a new one to ask you about this extra stuff. Thanxs in advance!
Back to Top
ThreeDee View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jul 2019
Location: Billings,MT
Status: Offline
Points: 1226
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ThreeDee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 May 2021 at 7:29am
member control pane
edit profile
then scroll down to the iddie biddie box across from "signature"
|Ryzen 5 5600x|ASRock X570 Taichi-BIOS 4.30|2x16GB HyperX Predator RGB 3200@3600 1:1 IF|ASRock RX 5700XT|2 x PCIe 4.0 M.2 Drives for OS & Games|850 WTT Seasonic 80+ Titanium PSU|Noctua NH-D15|
Back to Top
ThreeDee View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jul 2019
Location: Billings,MT
Status: Offline
Points: 1226
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ThreeDee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 May 2021 at 7:32am
on some older BIOS revisions of the x570 Steel Legend, I couldn't do XMP but had to manually set RAM speed and voltage and then it worked fine ..
|Ryzen 5 5600x|ASRock X570 Taichi-BIOS 4.30|2x16GB HyperX Predator RGB 3200@3600 1:1 IF|ASRock RX 5700XT|2 x PCIe 4.0 M.2 Drives for OS & Games|850 WTT Seasonic 80+ Titanium PSU|Noctua NH-D15|
Back to Top
Zett View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Jul 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 49
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zett Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 May 2021 at 8:49pm
BIOS version: 3.70
CPU: 3700X
RAM: 2 x 8GB Crucial/Micron BLE8G4D36BEEAK.M8FE1 Ballistix Elite 3600MHz CL16

Notes:

When you select any memory speed outside the specifications of your processor, the CPU VDDCR_SOC Voltage is set to 1.1V and any change to this value will not take effect. Therefore, "memory overclocking" cannot be used. Audio cracking in games has been resolved by clearing CMOS.

It's tragic, the only usable versions were 2.60 from May 7, 2020 and 3.0 from September 2, 2020, two versions out of sixteen released.

I will be thinking a lot if the next motherboard will be from ASRock.

Z.
Back to Top
f300 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Jul 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote f300 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 May 2021 at 12:12am
Board model: X570M Pro4
BIOS version: 3.50
CPU: Ryzen 5 3600X
RAM: 32Gb (4x8Gb) Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3000 CL15 @ XMP

Setting: AMD CBS > NBIO Common Options > SMU Common Option > Max Voltage Offset

Setting Description: "Limit maximum CPU voltage for compact coolers, small form factor, or performance tuning."

This setting still does not function on BIOS v3.50. Changing from "Auto" to "100" does not limit max boost voltage at all. The voltage, temperature and benchmark scores stay the same no matter the option chosen.

I tried restoring BIOS defaults before testing it.

2.60 - Setting works with expected voltage, temperature and performance drop.
2.80 - Didn't test
2.90 - Setting is missing
3.00 - Setting does not work
3.40 - Setting does not work
3.50 - Setting does not work

I hope this can eventually be fixed as I find it quite useful. The very top of the boost range is quite inefficient and uses a lot of volts for little performance. This setting constrains the boost slightly, which lowers temperature and fan noise in a small case quite a bit, but doesn't hurt performance that much.

Thanks
Back to Top
pokuly View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Jan 2021
Status: Offline
Points: 70
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pokuly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 May 2021 at 10:10pm

Board: B550 Steel Legend
BIOS version: 2.00
CPU: 5900x
RAM: 2x16GB G.Skill B-Die@3733

My generic Fujitsu Siemens USB keyboard already was 2 times not detected on bootup since the 2.00 release. I have to shutdown and start again. A reboot is not enough.
Ryzen Master still shows the wrong value for VDDCR if set in UEFI -> OC Tweaker\External Voltage Settings

B550 Steel Legend / J5005-ITX
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 789
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.