ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Gaming Zone > Gaming PC Build Advice
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Assistance with GPU issue
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Assistance with GPU issue

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Sainter_Dad View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 02 Jan 2021
Location: Skye
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sainter_Dad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Assistance with GPU issue
    Posted: 02 Jan 2021 at 4:36am
I hope that everyone had a very happy Christmas

I purchased some components for my son for Christmas to upgrade his computer.
- Motherboard - ASRock Fatal1ty Z170 Gaming K4/D3
- GPU - GeForce GTX 1060
- RAM - 2 x 4 GByte Hyerx Fury DDR3 and 2 x 8 GByte Hyperx Fury DDR3
- Corsair AIO 120mm Cooling
- 3 x 140mm Case Fans
- 1 x SSD - 250 Gbyte
- 1 x SSD - 1Tbyte
- 1 x SATA HDD - 1 Tbyte

Everything works well - except the GPU will not run - it works fine with a 2 GB GTX660 but will not fire up with either an RX570 (8Gb) or the GTX 1060.

I am not sure if it is a BIOS issue - as the BIOS was set to have even turned off the On-Board LAN and Sound Card. I am also not sure if it is a Legacy issue as Windows 10 is set up as Legacy (due to retaining an older copy), however - I am not even seeing the BIOS post when the Computer is powered up.

Any advice/help would be appreciated. I know enough about the MoBo to get into trouble - so please (if you can) ELI5 - It is frustrating my son and me
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 9263
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jan 2021 at 4:46am
What is the power supply?

It looks like you may not be getting enough power for the more power hungry cards.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you too ;)

Edited by Xaltar - 02 Jan 2021 at 4:47am
Back to Top
Sainter_Dad View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 02 Jan 2021
Location: Skye
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sainter_Dad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jan 2021 at 4:55am
Thanks Xaltar

I have tried 2 PSUs

- Corsair Vengeance 650M 650W 80+ Silver; and
- Cooler Master MWE White 650W

I have done the checks and apparently, 650W is ample for the system.

I have also stripped it down to just one RAM stick - removed ALL non vital periperals (inc SSD and HDD)
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 9263
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jan 2021 at 5:59am
Very odd, did you try it in a different PCIe slot and with different display outputs?

It's also worth trying other display cables, it could be your HDMI cable isn't
compatible with the newer standard.

Edited by Xaltar - 02 Jan 2021 at 6:07am
Back to Top
Sainter_Dad View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 02 Jan 2021
Location: Skye
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sainter_Dad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jan 2021 at 7:07am
Tried:

- Different PCIe slots;
- Different Cables;
- Resetting BIOS;
- Adding the newer card to the second PCI slot

None of this worked.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 9263
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jan 2021 at 5:39pm
This is probably a stupid question but I have to ask, are you connecting the
PCIe power to the newer cards?

What exactly happens when you have one of these cards installed and you power on
the system, does it try to boot (without display) or halt with no activity other
than fans?

Also, are the cards seating properly into the slot? They may have a slightly
thicker PCB and not be fully seating in the new board with it's tight slots.
Back to Top
Sainter_Dad View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 02 Jan 2021
Location: Skye
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sainter_Dad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jan 2021 at 2:29pm
LOL - yes - the 8 pin PCIe is connected and the cards are seated properly.

It seems to boot - because when I do a hard shut down (holding the power button for 3 seconds) it often comes back with repairing/checking the Windows install - so I figure it is getting to that stage and not liking the shutdown.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 9263
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jan 2021 at 6:04pm
So the issue is you are not getting a display, not necessarily that the cards
are not working. Typically the system will halt if there is no GPU detected but in
your case the CPU should be providing an iGPU so try hooking up your display cable
to the motherboard display outputs, with the new GPU installed. See if maybe it is
just prioritizing the onboard for some reason.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.