ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Z97 Extreme4 not seeing RAM or HDD

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote IPanic11 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Z97 Extreme4 not seeing RAM or HDD
    Posted: 06 Mar 2016 at 11:50pm
I am new to building computers.  I went to PC Part picker and order all my gear and put it together.  The second stick of Ram always gives me a 55 error code and the 4TB Hard drive is not shown it just makes a few annoying sounds (hums and clicks not beeps) and delays the start up.  I am running windows 10 and in disk manager it might be seeing it but its not initialized and wont do it (shows it as 0MB drive).

I have updated the motherboard to the latest BIOS driver and it still doesn't like the RAM.  Anyhelp would be greatly appreciated.  
This is what I purchased:
CPU: Intel i5-4690 3.5GHZ quad core
Motherboard: ASrock z97 extreme4 ATX LGA1150
Memory: Mushkin ECO2 16GB (2X8GB) DDR3-1600 Memory
Storage: Crucial bx100 250GB 2.5" drive
              WD Red 4TB 3.5" 5900 RPM drive
Video cards: 2 Asus GeForce GTX 950 2GB video card 2 way sli
Power supply EVGA Supernova NEX 650W 80+ Gold certified Fully modular ATX power
optical Drive: LG WH16NS40 Blu-Ray
Operating system Windows 10 64 bit only
Wireless network adaptor: TP-Link TL-WDN4800
All in a NZXT Phantom 410 case

Again any help would be greatly appreciated
I don't always Panic but when I do I really do
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Mar 2016 at 12:48am
Welcome to the forums.

I will address the hard disk issue first: