ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X670E Steel Legend - Memory Issue
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

X670E Steel Legend - Memory Issue

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
x670hell View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 14 Nov 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 20
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote x670hell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X670E Steel Legend - Memory Issue
    Posted: 14 Nov 2022 at 10:44am
I'm finishing up a build and having an issue getting the machine to POST if both memory sticks CORSAIR Vengeance are installed in A2/B2. CPU LED stays on and the DRAM LED flashes on the motherboard. I've waited MANY minutes hoping that it was memory initialization. Powers on, boots, and works fine if either of the sticks are in B2 slot. I also tried to boot with the memory in A1/B1 but that did not work either.

Motherboard: X670E Steel Legend (v1.11 BIOS)
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 7700x
Memory: CORSAIR Vengeance (CMK32GX5M2B5600C36)
Video: ZOTAC GAMING GEFORCE RTX 3070 TI TRINITY OC
Storage: Samsung 980 Pro 2 TB M.2-2280 PCIe 4.0
CPU Cooler: ARCTIC Liquid Freezer II 280 A-RGB
Power Supply: Corsair RM850

Currently running in just a 16GB config. Since each stick works on its own, I'm skeptical of a memory hardware issue. Are there any known issues that would exhibit this behavior? Any recommendations on things to check to resolve?
Back to Top
UnrelentingPest View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Nov 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote UnrelentingPest Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Nov 2022 at 5:11am
Hey, maybe try loosening the CPU cooler a bit? I've heard that can cause problems
Back to Top
cx5 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 1543
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cx5 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Nov 2022 at 9:54am
Originally posted by x670hell x670hell wrote:

Powers on, boots, and works fine if either of the sticks are in B2 slot.


Since you are able to boot using 1 stick only, then enter bios and manually change the timings, if you have experience with AM4+DDR4 then you know what I mean hence I won't write more because it's a hxll lot to write.

and if you read through this forums' history you will find many near similar cases, i.e. upgrade to Zen3 with new bios but can't boot with 2 sticks, etc etc etc get tips and tricks here and there, as well as other forums.....

I won't say because XMP is not EXPO hence not compatible, because there's been report of EXPO also not booting at all and needed new bios to solve, etc etc etc..... SO, don't worry about XMP, just go the traditional method of manually finding the secret-timing that your system need.

Good luck. Hope to hear good news from you later.
x370taichiflashx470beta4.9
2x8GB HOF4CXLBS3600K17LD162C
or
2x16GB CMK32GX4M2B3000C15 @3333
CX750M Optane900P TT_V71
3800x PoseidonAbsoluteZero4 BarrowPWM-17w>bykski420x140x28
XFX SWFT 319 6900XT
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.125 seconds.