ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Windows 10 Sleep Mode with ASRock X670E PR RS
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Windows 10 Sleep Mode with ASRock X670E PR RS

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Luststrolch View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Nov 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 65
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Luststrolch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Windows 10 Sleep Mode with ASRock X670E PR RS
    Posted: 24 Nov 2022 at 12:05am
Hi!

I recently bought a new computer which includes a ASRock X670E PR RS.
My OS is Windows 10 Pro and from my old computer I am used to being able to set Windows 10 into the sleep mode by clicking start -> on/off -> sleep.
This option is missing, and I can't enable it in the power save options because the option is not there to select.

I guess this might be because of some settings in the bios, but I am not completely sure.

I hope someone here has an idea.

Regards Luststrolch
Back to Top
apatch View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 134
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote apatch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2022 at 4:45pm
It looks like You don't have ACPI drivers installed, check in device manager and be sure to install latest AMD Chipset Drivers.

https://www.amd.com/en/support/chipsets/amd-socket-am5/x670e
ASRock X399 Taichi/X670E Pro RS
AMD Threadripper 1920X/Ryzen 7 7700X
64GB:2xF5-6000J3636F16GX2-TZ5S/KF548C38BBK2-64
Samsung 960EVO,970Pro/980Pro
MSI GeForce GTX 1050/Asus GeForce RTX 3080TUF
W10P/W11P
Back to Top
Luststrolch View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Nov 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 65
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Luststrolch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Nov 2022 at 12:35am
Hi.

I tried to install it and in the device manager I have multiple ACPI entries. In 'Computer' is 'ACPI x64-based PC'. In 'System devices' there are three entries with ACPI in their names.
I installed the AMD drivers but there is still no option in the energy saving plan section for sleep.
Back to Top
MyJules View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 29 Nov 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MyJules Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Nov 2022 at 12:05am
I have the same MB with 7950x running win11 and sleep works fine. Try newer bios or XMP or auto on RAM. i think sleep may be missing, if you set your ram as expo.
Back to Top
rouki999 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Nov 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 35
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rouki999 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Nov 2022 at 3:26am
I have the same problem, like you.

If I use the XMP profile, i missed the sleeping mode in windows.

With the Standard Auto Clock (4800 Mhz RAM Clock) it works fine.
But if I try a faster RAM Clock or manual Settings, I get some various bugs.
With the XMP profile: I lose the sleeping mode and the system can´t reboot.
With manual clocks, I have the sleeping mode, but the system can´t reboot. I don´t know which option the problem is.

I think in the bios are various bugs. I hope Asrock will bring a stable BIOS-Update soon, so that everyone can use his RAM.
Back to Top
Luststrolch View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Nov 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 65
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Luststrolch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Nov 2022 at 3:31am
@rouki999
Thanks for this information. The last (none beta) Bios was released on 2022/10/25.
So it is about time for an update.
Back to Top
apatch View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 134
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote apatch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Dec 2022 at 7:21pm
Looks like even using default 4800MHz clocks (XMP profile) on 2 sticks of KF548C38BBK2-64 with my X670E Pro RS 1.11 creates some problems.

If I will try to use stanby mode for more than ~8 hours (it's a blind guess, got to check it correctly), then after waking up, my LAN card and BT is gone.

"Miniport: Realtek Gaming 2.5GbE Family Controller, {c5d30d35-345e-4886-8ee8-e9a6f72d788e}, event: Fatal error: The miniport has failed a power transition to operational power"

The only solution for this is to power down the system, unplug a power cord, wait a moment, press a power button for a few seconds, replug it and turn on again.

For a few years I am using Windows - only switching it to standby mode (got to have some browser tabs loaded with predefined settings right after sitting to my computer).

In a time perspective, x399 Taichi got similar problem with standby mode, sometimes didn't wake up properly or just crashed, after few years and few newer bioses it got better but still crashes sometimes, the funny thing is, it gets relatively stable after latest 3.92 beta bios, which recently I found out just ignores chosen @3200 XMP profile and still uses 2133Mhz settings to make it stable. LOL
ASRock X399 Taichi/X670E Pro RS
AMD Threadripper 1920X/Ryzen 7 7700X
64GB:2xF5-6000J3636F16GX2-TZ5S/KF548C38BBK2-64
Samsung 960EVO,970Pro/980Pro
MSI GeForce GTX 1050/Asus GeForce RTX 3080TUF
W10P/W11P
Back to Top
Luststrolch View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Nov 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 65
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Luststrolch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2023 at 4:03am
Has anyone tried the Bios Version 1.11.AS03 [Beta]?
It says Enhance S3 mode. :/
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.111 seconds.