ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - AB350-Pro4 BIOS Update order
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

AB350-Pro4 BIOS Update order

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Zach1928 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 107
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zach1928 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: AB350-Pro4 BIOS Update order
    Posted: 12 Mar 2023 at 2:38am
Hello,

I am thinking about replacing the R5-1400 in my system with an R5-5600 rather than jumping to AM5 given the price. Seems like a good and cheap drop in upgrade to keep this system chugging along.

I am on BIOS p5.40 right now. If I am reading correctly, I can flash P7.00 [Beta] and then L8.02. Is that correct, or are there any bridge BIOS' I am missing? And to confirm, would I be able to use the 1400 to flash from 5.40 up through L8.02?

Thanks in advance!
Back to Top
threadzipper1957 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 9335
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote threadzipper1957 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Mar 2023 at 6:47pm
My advice, don't use the 5000 series CPU's, but stick to the CPU support list.
https://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/AB350%20Pro4/index.asp#CPU
5000 sereis is not on the support list and can only function because AMD put that in the Agesa code, and sometimes it works for a short while, and suddenly 1 memory slot stops working, with the Old CPU there is no problem, and when you put the new CPU on an newer board, there is also no problem
Also a new BIOS doesn't mean, that it is always betetr, that is a misperception, many people have.
When your BIOS is 5.40, indeed you need to go to the 7.00 bridge BIOS, then You can update to 8.02.
But You cannot downgrade anymore, once You have 7.00 or above.
Kind Regards
Back to Top
Zach1928 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 107
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zach1928 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Mar 2023 at 2:50am
Thanks for your insight. If there is no confidence in the 5k sku's in the b350 boards, then this machine is end of the road. I don't see any reson in adding a 3k series sku to this given how old it is.
Back to Top
Jocko256 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 06 Apr 2023
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Points: 30
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Jocko256 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Apr 2023 at 5:20pm
Hi

I have gone same upgrade path on AB350-Pro4.

Flashed BIOS to latest 8.2. Left my 1500X in and it was fine. Then a week later dropped in 5600g.

So far (3 weeks in) no issues.

Going to update Ram from 2x4gb to 2x8gb...and trying to get my head around just what type of Ram this Motherboard/CPU combo will support. Various reports of 2666 to 3200. But Cezanne processor is pretty new territory for this board.
Back to Top
magnus_1966 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Apr 2023
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote magnus_1966 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2023 at 1:16am
Don't upgrade the CPU. I've tried a Ryzen 3 4300GE
At least only one core is available instead of four.
Not correct Bios settings and board goes off trying to use booot DVD
Back to Top
Dekade View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 28 Aug 2023
Location: Indiana
Status: Offline
Points: 30
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dekade Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Aug 2023 at 12:54am
[QUOTE=threadzipper1957] My advice, don't use the 5000 series CPU's, but stick to the CPU support list.
[URL=https://www.asrock.[/QUOTE]

Here is the reply I got from ASRock. Any comments???

Question: This motherboard is being used as a home surveillance camera build. Can it handle an upgrade to a Ryzen 5 5600G processor and a Bios upgrade to handle the Ryzen 5 5600G. What Bios version can it be upgraded to?

ASRock: Yes, the board support the type of processor 5600G , but you can not update your motherboard BIOs if you have installed A12 CPU , will not allowed you to do it.

To update your BIOS you need a newer CPU model like 3400G or 3600X

To update from the BIOs 5.00 you have , you need to do two steps .

Update your BIOS to 5.40 first and then you can update to L8.02



Bios download link

https://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/AB350%20Pro4/index.asp#BIOS



How to update

https://www.asrock.com/support/BIOSIG.asp?cat=BIOS10

Comment: I suppose a 5600X will operate just as well as a 5600G. I also have a straight Ryzen 5 3600

Any comments overall?????

Thanks, Dekade

I can't think of a signature
Back to Top
Dekade View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 28 Aug 2023
Location: Indiana
Status: Offline
Points: 30
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dekade Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Aug 2023 at 12:57am
[QUOTE=threadzipper1957] My advice, don't use the 5000 series CPU's, but stick to the CPU support list.
[URL=https://www.asrock.[/QUOTE]

Here is the reply I got from ASRock. Any comments???

Question: This motherboard is being used as a home surveillance camera build. Can it handle an upgrade to a Ryzen 5 5600G processor and a Bios upgrade to handle the Ryzen 5 5600G. What Bios version can it be upgraded to?

ASRock: Yes, the board support the type of processor 5600G , but you can not update your motherboard BIOs if you have installed A12 CPU , will not allowed you to do it.

To update your BIOS you need a newer CPU model like 3400G or 3600X

To update from the BIOs 5.00 you have , you need to do two steps .

Update your BIOS to 5.40 first and then you can update to L8.02



Bios download link

https://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/AB350%20Pro4/index.asp#BIOS



How to update

https://www.asrock.com/support/BIOSIG.asp?cat=BIOS10

Comment: I suppose a 5600X will operate just as well as a 5600G. I also have a straight Ryzen 5 3600

Any comments overall?????

Thanks, Dekade
I can't think of a signature
Back to Top
eccential View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 10 Oct 2022
Location: Nevada
Status: Offline
Points: 4375
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eccential Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Aug 2023 at 8:54am
AsRock doesn't always keep the "CPU Support List" up-to-date.
You can see that their list contains ZERO Renoir, Vermeer nor Cezanne CPUs, but the BIOS update page says, "Support Renoir, Vermeer, and Cezanne CPU."

You have a 1400 (Summit Ridge / original Zen), so I think it'll work just fine.
Go to 7.00 first, and then go to either 7.40 (latest non-beta) or L8.02 (latest beta).

If I were you, I'd do:
1) Flash to 7.00 (bridge BIOS)
2) Flash to 7.40 (latest non-beta)
3) Swap CPU, clear CMOS.
4) Flash to L8.02 (latest beta)
5) Be happy. And update again when AsRock releases another update (AGESA 1.2.0.A or maybe even newer).

The reason for doing yet another flashing after swapping the CPU to 5600 is because, as I understand it, there is some addressing limitation with older CPUs, so I'm not sure if 1400 would be able to write the entire BIOS space.

Also note, R5-5600 (Vermeer) is entirely different beast from R5-5600G (Cezanne). I've heard of more issues going from pre-Matisse to Cezanne. I've not heard of any issues going to Matisse or Vermeer. Something about the way APU uses the BIOS addressing space. That's why some of the BIOS pages say you have to use Matisse or newer to flash in order to support Renoir/Cezanne.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.146 seconds.