ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - How to enable eco mode on Asrock 670E Taichi£
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

How to enable eco mode on Asrock 670E Taichi£

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
M440 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 12 Jul 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 930
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote M440 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: How to enable eco mode on Asrock 670E Taichi£
    Posted: 23 Jul 2023 at 6:32pm
Originally posted by shmerl shmerl wrote:

I seriously don't want to waste time on pointless arguments. Those who want details will watch the video by Gamers Nexus on eco mode for Zen 4. Those who don't want to watch will make uneducated mistakes.


power is voltage multiplied by current [w]=[v]*[a]

cpu has a table of a voltage it uses for a certain frequency (we can adjust this by editing voltage "curve optimizer"). We have wattage and voltage known, so we also know the amperage.

we clearly see this proven in practice that PTT is the only limit reached and there is no point in setting the other two












asrock b650m/hdv.m2, ryzen 7700x@85watt
Back to Top
shmerl View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 582
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jul 2023 at 11:43am
I seriously don't want to waste time on pointless arguments. Those who want details will watch the video by Gamers Nexus on eco mode for Zen 4. Those who don't want to watch will make uneducated mistakes.
Back to Top
M440 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 12 Jul 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 930
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote M440 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 2023 at 4:01am
Originally posted by shmerl shmerl wrote:

Sure, don't watch it. But what you said above about 105000 mW PPT being equal to 105 W eco mode is just incorrect.


i don't understand.

Quote And you still have to set all 3 values. Putting it here so others won't be confused by what you said and do it wrong.


no you don't have to set this, because you are already limiting the cpu by the factor which is important to you PTT (watt)




...

...

asrock b650m/hdv.m2, ryzen 7700x@85watt
Back to Top
shmerl View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 582
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 2023 at 2:36am
I mean set all 3 values if you do it manually. As above, there is a single menu switch as well for eco modes.
Back to Top
shmerl View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 582
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 2023 at 2:35am
Sure, don't watch it. But what you said above about 105000 mW PPT being equal to 105 W eco mode is just incorrect. And you still have to set all 3 values. Putting it here so others won't be confused by what you said and do it wrong.
Back to Top
M440 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 12 Jul 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 930
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote M440 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 2023 at 3:19pm
PPT - power package tracking - [miliwatt]

you can track it after you set it in hwinfo - CPU PTT [W] field

you can leave the other settings at 0,

i'm not watching no video
asrock b650m/hdv.m2, ryzen 7700x@85watt
Back to Top
shmerl View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 582
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 2023 at 10:20am
Also, if you are setting it manually, setting PPT alone is not enough. You also need to set TDC and EDC.

I think that single toggle I found in the later post simply sets all 3 to those defined values I posted above.
Back to Top
shmerl View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 582
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 2023 at 10:15am
That's because those 105 and 65 are not realistic values of power, but some weird formulas. See that video by Gamers Nexus if you want more details.
Back to Top
shmerl View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 582
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 2023 at 10:14am
The actual ppt is in milliwatts, yes. But that's not equal eco modes like 105 W * 1000 or 65 W * 1000. That's what I'm saying.

Like PPT for 105 W eco mode for example is 142000 mW.
Back to Top
M440 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 12 Jul 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 930
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote M440 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 2023 at 12:40am
Originally posted by shmerl shmerl wrote:

I think that's incorrect. That 105 is not equal to PPT limit. See Gamers Nexus video about eco mode, they show the table for it.


is it in [mW] miliwatt units? if it's in miliwatts than it is a wattage limit.
asrock b650m/hdv.m2, ryzen 7700x@85watt
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.141 seconds.