ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Z77 Extreme4 can t  wake up . . .
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Z77 Extreme4 can t wake up . . .

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Z77 Extreme4 can t wake up . . .
    Posted: 24 Jun 2015 at 1:07am
Originally posted by trtamrta trtamrta wrote:

First tx to Xaltar and you for help !

This is what i get when use cmd commands :

C:\Users\PRKS>powercfg /a
The following sleep states are available on this system:
    Standby (S3)
    Hibernate
    Hybrid Sleep
    Fast Startup

The following sleep states are not available on this system:
    Standby (S1)
        The system firmware does not support this standby state.

    Standby (S2)
        The system firmware does not support this standby state.

    Standby (Connected)
        The system firmware does not support this standby state.


C:\Users\PRKS>powercfg -lastwake
Wake History Count - 0

C:\Users\PRKS>


When i putting pc to sleep mode i right click on windows logo on taskbar then go to shut down then sleep
When i put pc to sleep first monitor lose image then pc case is still light on like cople min then pc go to " sleep " , lights shut down
Then i can t wake up pc with mouse or keyboard i need to press power button on case which pc starts like he was shut down not in sleep mode



It seems like your board is not going into Sleep mode, even though you seem to be starting Sleep correctly from your description.

If you could go into Sleep mode in the past, you should remember that the power light on the PC case would be going on and off, flashing or blinking is the term in English.

If it takes a couple minutes to go into Sleep mode, which is a long time, it should take no longer than about 15 seconds.

If you haven't changed any settings in the BIOS, the default values should allow Sleep.

Since the power light on the PC case is not flashing, you are not going into Sleep mode, the PC is shutting down for some reason. You said you have 6GB of RAM memory, is that right?

Instead of the way you go into Sleep mode, try this. Put the mouse pointer in the lower right corner of the screen. You should see a black bar appear on the right side of the screen with five entries, one of those is Settings. If you click on Settings, you'll get more options, one of them is Power. Click on Power and you should see Sleep as one of the options. Click on Sleep and see what happens.

When you try going into Sleep mode, do you have a lot of things running on the Desktop?

Have you tried doing a virus scan lately?
Back to Top
trtamrta View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Jun 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote trtamrta Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 2015 at 4:48pm
First tx to Xaltar and you for help !

This is what i get when use cmd commands :

C:\Users\PRKS>powercfg /a
The following sleep states are available on this system:
    Standby (S3)
    Hibernate
    Hybrid Sleep
    Fast Startup

The following sleep states are not available on this system:
    Standby (S1)
        The system firmware does not support this standby state.

    Standby (S2)
        The system firmware does not support this standby state.

    Standby (Connected)
        The system firmware does not support this standby state.


C:\Users\PRKS>powercfg -lastwake
Wake History Count - 0

C:\Users\PRKS>


When i putting pc to sleep mode i right click on windows logo on taskbar then go to shut down then sleep
When i put pc to sleep first monitor lose image then pc case is still light on like cople min then pc go to " sleep " , lights shut down
Then i can t wake up pc with mouse or keyboard i need to press power button on case which pc starts like he was shut down not in sleep mode

Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 2015 at 12:36pm
How do you put the PC into Sleep mode? Please tell us what you do to put the PC into Sleep mode.

Does your PC case have a power light that is on when the PC is on? If it does, what does the power light on the PC case do when you are in Sleep mode?

When my PC is in Sleep mode, if I press the power button on the PC case, the PC wakes up, it does not restart or boot again. That tells me that either Sleep is failing on your PC for some reason, or the PC is really not in Sleep mode.

What is the power supply you are using? The power supply must be turned on when using Sleep, since its Standby 5V rail keeps the RAM memory on during Sleep, which is how the PC wakes without booting Windows.

Try running this command from a Command Prompt (Admin), by left clicking your mouse with the mouse pointer in the lower left corner of the screen and selecting Command Prompt (Admin). The command to type in is, powercfg /a

This is what I get from that command:



I have four Sleep states available, Standby (S3) is Windows Sleep.

Notice that I ran another powercfg command, powercfg -lastwake to show how I woke the PC from Sleep. As I said above, I used the power button as we can see here.

Back to Top
trtamrta View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Jun 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote trtamrta Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jun 2015 at 12:40am
Try it all but still nothing . . .Ouch
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 22688
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2015 at 9:29pm
Ok so something isn't right here, the numlock button on the keyboard should remain lit in sleep mode. So, the PC seems to be powering down when entering sleep mode. 

Now we need to check windows for any potential problems.

Right click the desktop and select Personalize from the drop down menu.
Click Screensaver
Click Change power settings
You should now have 2 power plans listed with one of them being active (it should have a black dot in the checkbox)
Click "change plan settings" for your active profile
Now click "Change Advanced Power Settings"
Expand the sleep tree by clicking the little + next to it.
Click the + sign next to "allow wake timers"
Make sure it is set to enabled
Also check to see if "Allow hybrid sleep" is enabled, if not, enable it.

If these settings are already enabled then I will need to think a bit about your problem and get back to you Wink

If they are not enabled then that may well be the problem.

Back to Top
trtamrta View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Jun 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote trtamrta Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2015 at 9:09pm
Originally posted by Xaltar Xaltar wrote:

When the PC is in sleep mode are the keyboard lights still lit?

No , but when i putting pc to sleep it takes long time i think till he actually go to sleep mode , need to w8 couple min till he is slepp  

When trying to wake the PC did you try moving the mouse too?


Yes
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 22688
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2015 at 9:06pm
When the PC is in sleep mode are the keyboard lights still lit?

When trying to wake the PC did you try moving the mouse too?
Back to Top
trtamrta View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Jun 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote trtamrta Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2015 at 8:41pm
Try it but nothing helped Ouch

Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 22688
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2015 at 8:03pm
Excellent, now we know where to start Smile

Ok from here things will get a little more complicated but I will try and keep my instructions simple and easy to follow.

We need to go into the BIOS again. 
Once in the BIOS click on the icon labeled "Advanced"
Click on "ACPI Configuration" in the menu that opens.
Set the following to enabled:
PS/2 Keyboard Power On
USB Keyboard/Remote Power On
USB Mouse Power On

Click the exit icon in the top right corner
Click on save and exit.

Boot up and see if you still have a problem. If so we will try something else.
Back to Top
trtamrta View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Jun 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote trtamrta Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2015 at 7:39pm
i click load UEFI then confirm yes and nothing happening and i will provide you 2 more information . . .

1. when i put pc to sleep it takes some times till he go to sleep maybe to long is till he shoot down to sleep

2. i think my son before couple week s press clr cmos button on the mother board and from then i think sleep wake are messed 
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.109 seconds.