ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Z170 extreme4 dr.debug 04
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Z170 extreme4 dr.debug 04

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 234
Author
Message
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Aug 2016 at 12:52am
Originally posted by HappyMan HappyMan wrote:

bclk value is 166.7500 x 27 mult. 


That is what I thought, it makes sense now. You did say you were BCLK over clocking in your first post, so sorry for the question. I also see that now in your DRAM Configuration screen shots.

It's a great accomplishment to reach your OC with a BCLK over clock on the CPU, you should be happy with that. But using that BCLK can also affect memory stability.

Please understand that a memory OC, just like a CPU OC, is not guaranteed to work. It depends on how good the memory controller (IMC) is, which is part of the CPU. The maximum speed of your memory is an OC, and Intel only guarantees a memory speed of 2133 for Skylake processors.

I see that you are using the A1 and B1 memory slots. At least that's what I see in your Timing Configurator and AIDA64 screen shots. Your memory is single sided (SS), 4GB DIMMs, which should be used in the A2 and B2 memory slots. Those are the best memory slots to use for the two SS DIMMs that you are using. That is shown in your board's manual, and all ASRock Z170 board manuals.

I highly suggest that you move your memory to the A2 and B2 slots, if it is not there now. Before you do that, save your UEFI/BIOS settings in a profile (I'm sure you do this now, just saying.) When you move the memory to the A2 and B2 slots, clear the CMOS/UEFI with the jumper on the board, or the clr CMOS button on the board's IO panel. That is the best procedure any time you change the memory to different slots.

Using the Command Rate (CR) of 1T is not easy with high speed DDR4 memory. Please try using 2T for a while, and see if you still get the 04 POST code when you start the PC.

I doubt that the XMP profile is doing anything for you, since you are using a BCLK OC. You can set many of the main XMP setting using the DRAM Tweaker feature in DRAM Configuration. I've had worse results using the XMP profile than setting the memory options manually, and using DRAM Tweaker.

What are the VCCSA and VCCIO voltages you have now, shown in the OC Tweaker, Voltage Configuration screen? Adjusting VCCSA can help the most with high speed DDR4 memory.

You may also need to set the DRAM voltage above 1.35V, but my ASRock Z170 board sets the DRAM Voltage a little higher than the DRAM Voltage option setting. What do you see as the DRAM voltage in the H/W Monitoring screen? That should also show the VCCSA and VCCIO voltages.

Your Chieftec PSU seems to be a multiple 12V rail PSU, which means you need to be careful balancing the load on the different rails. There are many Chieftec 750W PSUs, so we don't know which one you really have. Is it this one:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817202008
Back to Top
HappyMan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Aug 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote HappyMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Aug 2016 at 1:30am
Chieftec A-80 CTG-750C
Back to Top
HappyMan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Aug 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote HappyMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Aug 2016 at 3:29am
i'm drop down BCLK a little (to 163) and replace ram module to A2 and B2 slots.
Look like i get stable system.
set ram timings to 14.14.14.33 with 1.31V
all on screen
http://imgur.com/a/1sQtL
2hour prime 95 - pass
20loop LinX - pass
no 04 code freeze
Maby need correcting somethings for get more CPU freq ?

anyway the main point is (like parsec said)- "The memory controller is part of your Skylake CPU. If an over clock fails because of too little voltage, any number of things can go wrong in the CPU, including a memory problem"

Any manipulation with memory freq and timings don't resolve 04 freezes for me.  Only Vcore voltage.


Edited by HappyMan - 14 Aug 2016 at 3:59am
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 234
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.848 seconds.