ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - No display signal and no POST
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

No display signal and no POST

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Message
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 22958
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 2017 at 1:06pm
Originally posted by boxboxer boxboxer wrote:

Also, the psu was loaned to me from someone, so it's used

Almost every time we see "used power supply" it turns out to be the issue Wink
Back to Top
boxboxer View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 15 Jan 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote boxboxer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 2017 at 6:18pm
Yeah, I've been suspecting that as well. The owner originally said the psu can be a little "moody," probably referring to its problem starting up. Though turning on the psu was a problem, all I had to do to get it back running was to jump start it, so I don't really know if there's any issues beyond that. There may be an issue with its ATX power connectors, but using a multimeter to test whether the connectors work is kinda inconvenient for me, time and financial wise. If I were to replace the psu as a fast and easy option, would you have any recommendations for one that is compatible and with the best price? Also, a big problem is the fact that the internal speaker isn't working, could that be the psu or mobo's fault? So would replacing the mobo also be necessary?
Back to Top
boxboxer View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 15 Jan 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote boxboxer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 2017 at 6:19pm
And thanks for bearing with me!
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 22958
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 2017 at 6:46pm
The PSU is the backbone of your system, if there is anything wrong with it, at all, replace it. The PSU should never be that thing you leave till last and buy whatever is cheapest or use what money you have left over. The PSU should be the first thing you research and buy (after you have picked out your parts). 

A 450w PSU should be more than enough for your system and allow you to upgrade a little here and there. Look for something with an 80+ Bronze rating from a known brand. Corsair, Evga, Seasonic, XFX, Cooler Master, Zalman, OCZ etc. If it costs less than $30 it is probably junk. I usually shoot for about the $40 mark for a 400 - 450w PSU.

Back to Top
boxboxer View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 15 Jan 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote boxboxer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 2017 at 2:59am
Is this alright? EVGA 100-B1-0450-K1 450W Bronze 80 Plus Power Supply
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 2017 at 3:24am
Originally posted by boxboxer boxboxer wrote:

Is this alright? EVGA 100-B1-0450-K1 450W Bronze 80 Plus Power Supply


That's cutting it close considering your GPU. Not much headroom.

750ti -  Min 350w
http://www.realhardtechx.com/index_archivos/Page362.htm



In just now looking at NewEgg:

$5.00 more and you can get the 600w of the same model:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16817438014






Edited by wardog - 17 Jan 2017 at 3:24am
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 2017 at 11:10am
Originally posted by boxboxer boxboxer wrote:

Yeah, I've been suspecting that as well. The owner originally said the psu can be a little "moody," probably referring to its problem starting up. Though turning on the psu was a problem, all I had to do to get it back running was to jump start it, so I don't really know if there's any issues beyond that. There may be an issue with its ATX power connectors, but using a multimeter to test whether the connectors work is kinda inconvenient for me, time and financial wise. If I were to replace the psu as a fast and easy option, would you have any recommendations for one that is compatible and with the best price? Also, a big problem is the fact that the internal speaker isn't working, could that be the psu or mobo's fault? So would replacing the mobo also be necessary?


If a PSU needs to be "jump started" (whatever that is...) to get it working, I would never use it.

The PSU is the heart of any PC, skimping on it is asking for trouble. Quality is more important than power capacity. Look for sale specials in the $50 - $100 range if budget is a factor. Look for "80+ Gold" efficiency, which means higher quality build, and at least a five year warranty. If you use one video card, you don't need more than 600W.

You can't hear the internal speaker because the board does not have a built in speaker. I haven't seen a board with a built in speaker in many years, it's not done that way anymore. POST beep speakers are either provided with a PC case, or you get to buy one. Your board has a header for a POST beep speaker. Also, there is an option in the BIOS to enable/disable this speaker, which is Disabled by default.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 22958
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 2017 at 3:48pm
For $5 more the 600w is a great choice. 

450w is adequate for that system but will limit upgrade options in the future should you decide to purchase a more powerful GPU. I recommended that wattage based on price concerns but if the 600w is only $5 more then it is definitely the way to go and will allow you to upgrade later, even to more power hungry GPUs.
Back to Top
boxboxer View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 15 Jan 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote boxboxer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jan 2017 at 3:06pm
Thanks guys, it was the PSU after all. I went to buy a new one and replace it, once I started it up the display worked! Also thanks for recommending this PSU!
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jan 2017 at 9:24pm
Originally posted by boxboxer boxboxer wrote:

Thanks guys, it was the PSU after all. I went to buy a new one and replace it, once I started it up the display worked! Also thanks for recommending this PSU!



Glad to read it's working now for you. Lesson learned.


Clap
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.148 seconds.