ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - 970a-g/3.1 + GTX1070 = pcie 1.1
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

970a-g/3.1 + GTX1070 = pcie 1.1

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
Zirw View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 25 Jan 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 55
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zirw Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 970a-g/3.1 + GTX1070 = pcie 1.1
    Posted: 23 Feb 2017 at 8:40am
Thanks for the answer. Today noted that bus clock can be raised to 204.5Mhz itself. Similarly, the frequency of the North Bridge arbitrarily raised to 2,250, and the frequency of HT until 2450. Is this normal? I like that there is the first time! I understand that the frequency of the Northbridge and HT rises due to increasing BUS clock. It also affects the frequency of my processor.

Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 23678
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Feb 2017 at 4:24am
If it is only peaking at those temps briefly then that is perfectly fine. Under a more sustained load you want to aim for under 60c but brief peaks into the 60 - 65 region are not going to hurt anything Wink
Back to Top
Zirw View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 25 Jan 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 55
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zirw Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Feb 2017 at 3:55am
I have a great cooler DeepCool ASSASSIN II. And basically the temperature does not exceed 55 degrees, but in the stress tests, and rarely in severe stages of games reaches 62 degrees. No, I do not think I will use this processor for a long time, because with the advent razen updated and mat board and processor.At the same time my processor overclocked to 4.5Ghz.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 23678
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Feb 2017 at 3:48am
62 is about the upper limit for sustained load. Ideally you would want to lower that a little. It won't likely damage your CPU but it could shorten it's lifespan if you experience these temps frequently.

Is this on an aftermarket cooler or the stock boxed cooler? You may want to look at getting a better cooler.
Back to Top
Zirw View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 25 Jan 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 55
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zirw Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Feb 2017 at 3:36am
Thanks for the answer. Yes, you are right on the factor I have achieved stable operation at 4.5Ghz. Could you answer one more question? Normal Do FX8350 for temperature stress testing under a load of 65 degrees? In games I have maximum 62 degrees, but only in a pair of games, games in temperature generally not higher than 55 degrees. Is this normal?
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 23678
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2017 at 10:38pm
I have not had an answer yet with Ryzen being prepped for launch my contacts are busy at the moment but I did talk to a number of AMD enthusiasts and they informed me that this is not an uncommon issue and that it is done on purpose. Running an FX system with an altered BCLK can cause minor instabilities even at lower frequencies, 101 - 105, that the system and OS correct for and you will never notice. This seems all well and good until they compound and cause more major issues or potentially damage hardware. 

From what I was told it is best to stick to multiplier overclocking and leave the BCLK at stock, while you may be able to eek out a few extra mhz it apparently isn't enough to be concerned over and certainly isn't worth the compounding issues tied to the PCIe bus speed and other connected components. I suspect the reason this issue is ignored is because it isn't technically a flaw or a bug, it is by design to protect the user. I am still hoping for a reply and will follow up again after Ryzen's launch but I may not get a response at least nothing better than what I just described. 

The moral is, the system works as intended at stock and with multiplier overclocks. If tweaking the BCLK breaks something then don't tweak the BCLK.
Back to Top
Zirw View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 25 Jan 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 55
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zirw Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2017 at 9:08pm
Thank you so much! I'll wait. Hopefully with the other problems will be solved updating bios, fan speed control and work with four memory modules frequency above 1600.
Tech support me and did not answer. My friend he wrote about a similar problem, but he did not answer them. I understand that we ignore? I wonder if there is any hope of that, the fact that we help? What do you want the answer from support?
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 23678
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Feb 2017 at 10:18pm
No problem at all, I will pass this information along to Tech Support myself too. Technically this isn't a fault as overclocking is not technically covered by any manufacturer. I will pass it along anyway and hopefully we will get an answer.
Back to Top
Zirw View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 25 Jan 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 55
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zirw Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Feb 2017 at 10:14pm
Yes, you understood me correctly! Once again, sorry for my english.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 23678
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Feb 2017 at 9:59pm
Your post is a little hard to understand but what I think you are saying is this:

When you overclock using the BCLK in BIOS it locks your PCIe bus to version 1.1
If you overclock the BCLK/Bus using A-Tuning from within windows this does not happen and the PCIe slots increase to version 2.0 when stresses as they should.

Is this correct?


Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.164 seconds.