ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - instant flash choice not available?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

instant flash choice not available?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
dispr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 12 Mar 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dispr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: instant flash choice not available?
    Posted: 12 Mar 2017 at 2:35pm
Originally posted by wardog wardog wrote:

Please go to the BIOS d/l page for your board and once there you will notice the teal EFI SHELL, click on it and you will be presented with instructions on now using the EFI Shell to update the BIOS

Any tips on flashing to a new bios? I don't have the tool in the bios settings either.. Also, looking at the bios download page on the Asrock website, I can't find the efishell link. I haven't tried to dos method, kinda scared :). 

Thanks


Edited by dispr - 12 Mar 2017 at 2:36pm
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 22943
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Mar 2017 at 9:10pm
Best of luck to you Thumbs Up
Back to Top
wmunn View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Mar 2017
Location: Florida
Status: Offline
Points: 17
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wmunn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Mar 2017 at 8:47pm
well,

The motherboard and Ram is all boxed up with return RMA labels on them. Will wait for them to refund my money, then re evaluate what is available in stock. Hopefully they will still have the ddr4 modules that G.Skill has released specifically for Ryzen. They have 2 models of it out now.

G.SKILL FORTIS Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 2400 (PC4 19200) AMD X370 / B350 / A320 Desktop Memory Model F4-2400C17D-16GFT

and

G.SKILL Flare X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 2400 (PC4 19200) AMD X370 / B350 / A320 Desktop Memory Model F4-2400C17D-16GFX
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 22943
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Mar 2017 at 8:39pm
Originally posted by wmunn wmunn wrote:


What troubles me is the amount of people posting good results on Ryzen using trident z 3600 modules. I specifically ordered these based on them being g.skills highest binned ram chips, figuring that the keep the best chips for their higher end products. I took a lot of criticism over this choice , being told the x370 wouldn't work with such high speed memory, and using a 4 module kit was also called into question .everyone was saying go with 2 16gb modules instead of 4 8gb modules.

When dealing with RAM issues it's always best to use 1 or 2 modules for testing. Generally 4 DIMMs will cause more issues than 2 which is why you were catching some flack for going the 4 DIMM route. 
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 22943
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Mar 2017 at 8:37pm
Originally posted by wmunn wmunn wrote:

I thought the fatal1ty x370 gaming professional was the top tier board from asrock for the am4 platform? over $200 usd vs $170 usd for the taichi ?

It is, on the gaming side. The difference is a few gaming centric features but performance and build quality is more or less the same Wink
Back to Top
wmunn View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Mar 2017
Location: Florida
Status: Offline
Points: 17
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wmunn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Mar 2017 at 7:35pm
Originally posted by Xaltar Xaltar wrote:

Long post and boot looping is typically RAM training and failing in the scenario you mentioned. 

This is a new architecture and there are going to be a lot of headaches getting things to work right. If you look at tech reviews you will note that many of them spent days just trying to get the systems to run stable, these are reviewers with numerous spare parts laying about to test. The common problem across most reviews I have watched/read has been RAM compatibility and the 1T issue I have been going on about. I am not saying that is the only issue but it is the largest stability related issue. Its impossible to test a system if you can't even get the RAM to consistently work Angry



What troubles me is the amount of people posting good results on Ryzen using trident z 3600 modules. I specifically ordered these based on them being g.skills highest binned ram chips, figuring that the keep the best chips for their higher end products. I took a lot of criticism over this choice , being told the x370 wouldn't work with such high speed memory, and using a 4 module kit was also called into question .everyone was saying go with 2 16gb modules instead of 4 8gb modules.
Back to Top
wmunn View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Mar 2017
Location: Florida
Status: Offline
Points: 17
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wmunn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Mar 2017 at 7:27pm
I thought the fatal1ty x370 gaming professional was the top tier board from asrock for the am4 platform? over $200 usd vs $170 usd for the taichi ?
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 22943
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Mar 2017 at 7:12pm
Long post and boot looping is typically RAM training and failing in the scenario you mentioned. 

This is a new architecture and there are going to be a lot of headaches getting things to work right. If you look at tech reviews you will note that many of them spent days just trying to get the systems to run stable, these are reviewers with numerous spare parts laying about to test. The common problem across most reviews I have watched/read has been RAM compatibility and the 1T issue I have been going on about. I am not saying that is the only issue but it is the largest stability related issue. Its impossible to test a system if you can't even get the RAM to consistently work Angry

I have read and watched every review from every source I can find as I don't have a Ryzen system yet to test for myself. I will keep doing my best to pass on information as I find it. Don't give up, from what I have been seeing the effort is worth it. Ryzen 7 are beasts.

Keep us posted as to your progress. If it helps I have seen quite a few reviewers show positive results with the X370 Taichi. Most of the reviews I have seen used the boards that came with the press kit from AMD, ASRock was not among the brands sent out. All these boards posed issues however. One reviewer, Hardware Unboxed on youtube, actually went for the ASRock X370 Taichi as it worked the best of the 4 boards he had on hand. This is probably because it is the current flagship and has beefier VRMs for both RAM and CPU power delivery.
Back to Top
wmunn View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Mar 2017
Location: Florida
Status: Offline
Points: 17
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wmunn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Mar 2017 at 7:11pm
I have been building my own computers since 1991 and when you get an issue like this on a personal build, it sucks just as much now as it ever did.

Usually my builds go flawlessly. I hate this.
Back to Top
wmunn View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Mar 2017
Location: Florida
Status: Offline
Points: 17
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wmunn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Mar 2017 at 6:54pm
This issue has been such a tough one to definitely know board vs memory being an issue. It  never started up correctly to begin with, long posts, powering up and down 2 to 3 times before actually posting into uefi bios, although it did load windows 10 install fine the first time. any successive attempt to install windows 10 or windows 7 with known good media was a failure. always hangs up where the windows logo is at the beginning, then the 5 little circles go around one half circle and it locks up.

every time I have run into that windows 10 install issue, it has been a bios issue, or motherboard failure. 
usually if it is a ram issue, you get blue screens and reboots later on in the windows install process.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.156 seconds.