ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - 1700X - X370 Gaming Pro - can't succeed in OC
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

1700X - X370 Gaming Pro - can't succeed in OC

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Message
dinin70 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Jan 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 48
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dinin70 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Apr 2017 at 3:06am
Anyway, Nothing to do, even with XMP disabled at auto settings for the RAM, 3.8ghz @ 1.37v the system crashes after 20m OCCT...

3.9ghz crashes almost instantly (5 minutes)
I checked no pin is bent, re-socketed the PSU MoBo and CPU cables. All voltages are very stable (vCore, +12V, +5V etc).

Am I right assuming there is something wrong with the Hardware?
 
The PSU is a Corsair RM1000x that was powering a 8350 and CF Fury --> with a load way higher than current R7 1700 + single Fury.


Edited by dinin70 - 06 Apr 2017 at 3:49pm
Back to Top
dinin70 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Jan 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 48
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dinin70 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Apr 2017 at 3:58pm
I believe I succeeded in having a stable 3.9ghz with:

- ram on auto (2133)
- 1.37v
- LLC 2
- LLC SOC 2
- C State disabled
- C6 disabled

aaaaaaand

- SOC Voltage 1.2

Can't succeed in having a stable RAM above stock 2133mhz
Back to Top
justqw View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 26
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote justqw Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jul 2017 at 7:17pm
Hi. Same problem. Even 3800 with 1.4V didnt work (stock ram at  2133)
Mobo: Gaming K4
CPU: Ryzen 1700
Back to Top
dinin70 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Jan 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 48
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dinin70 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jul 2017 at 10:30pm
Hello mate,
 
So, long story.

I had a Gaming K4 on the hand so I decided to socket the 1700X in the Gaming K4.

I install Windows, install some drivers. Then not having the Instant Flash program on the MoBo I decided to go to sleep.

Following day the MoBo was dead... I didn't even touch the BIOS.


Sent the AsRock Gaming K4 to RMA. AsRock sent me another one. I start then to have suspicions on the CPU.

I decided to buy a r5 1600 to make further tests.


And here everything changes. I just dump on the K4 the Sapphire Power Boost and set my other RAM stick to XMP1 (2400 MHz).

Everything smooth.


So I put the 1600 in the Professional Gaming. Slapped 3800mhz, 1.37v. XMP1 (2933mhz), with no additional tweakings. Everything works completely fine.


At that stage I had enough evidence to send the CPU back to RMA. AMD sent me another 1700X. Things are better. For the moment I have simply Sapphire Boost enabled and XMP1 (2933) enabled.

It functions very well (to know, OCCT would have instacrashed with the first CPU). I will see when I will have more time if I can push further, but had some troubles with 3800 on the CPU and 2933 on the RAM, but I didn't dig too much.

Maybe in one year I'll give another shot, but this story took a lot of time.

So I'm not sure if the MoBo isn't providing enough juice to the CPU, or if the 1700X lineup a problem... But I'm fine at 3600+2933, Multithread capacity is super strong and gaming wise it doesn't make a difference. I'm not pushing the CPU too much, everything is at advertised.

However I'm not sure I'd buy again such an expensive Motherboard. The Gaming K4 is LARGELY enough and is already a high end mobo.


Edited by dinin70 - 17 Jul 2017 at 10:33pm
Back to Top
AlbinoRhino View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 28 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 153
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AlbinoRhino Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jul 2017 at 10:34pm
Originally posted by dinin70 dinin70 wrote:


Hello mate,
?
So, long story.

I had a Gaming K4 on the hand so I decided to socket the 1700X in the Gaming K4.

I install Windows, install some drivers. Then not having the Instant Flash program on the MoBo I decided to go to sleep.

Following day the MoBo was dead... I didn't even touch the BIOS.


Sent the AsRock Gaming K4 to RMA. AsRock sent me another one. I start then to have suspicions on the CPU.

I decided to buy a r5 1600 to make further tests.


And here everything changes. I just dump on the K4 the Sapphire Power Boost and set my other RAM stick to XMP1 (2400 MHz).

Everything smooth.


So I put the 1600 in the Professional Gaming. Slapped 3800mhz, 1.37v. XMP1 (2933mhz), with no additional tweakings. Everything works completely fine.


At that stage I had enough evidence to send the CPU back to RMA. AMD sent me another 1700X. Things are better. For the moment I have simply Sapphire Boost enabled and XMP1 (2933) enabled.

It functions very well (to know, OCCT would have instacrashed with the first CPU). I will see when I will have more time if I can push further, but had some troubles with 3800 on the CPU and 2933 on the RAM, but I didn't dig too much.

Maybe in one year I'll give another shot, but this story took a lot of time.

So I'm not sure if the MoBo isn't providing enough juice to the CPU, or if the 1700X have a problem... But I'm fine at 3600+2933



I was doing some reading on OCNET and I noticed a few people that weren't able to achieve 3200MHz sent their CPUs in for exchange and with the CPUs they received in return they were able to load 3200 without issue.
Back to Top
Teckie View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 12 Jun 2017
Location: GA
Status: Offline
Points: 40
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Teckie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jul 2017 at 4:47am
Originally posted by AlbinoRhino AlbinoRhino wrote:


I was doing some reading on OCNET and I noticed a few people that weren't able to achieve 3200MHz sent their CPUs in for exchange and with the CPUs they received in return they were able to load 3200 without issue.

This is scary. Can you please link the article ? Thanks


Edited by Teckie - 18 Jul 2017 at 4:49am
Ryzen 1700X
Asrock X370 Fatal1ty prof gaming (1.0.0.6a)
G.Skill 8gx2 3200 FlareX 14-14-14-34 CAS 14 (F4-3200C14D-16GFX)
EVGA G3 750 80Gold
EVGA clc 280 AIO
960 EVO M.2
860 EVO SSD
Back to Top
nangu View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 06 Jul 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 120
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nangu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jul 2017 at 5:02am
I've read similar things on other sites. It does seem Ryzen IMC suffers from "silicon lottery" by itself ??


Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jul 2017 at 5:12am
Originally posted by nangu nangu wrote:

I've read similar things on other sites. It does seem Ryzen IMC suffers from "silicon lottery" by itself ??




Meh, I'd have to see some comparative binning and data the CPU holds before going that far.

AMD is getting 99% from the wafers with Ryzen which tells me they bin them properly.
Back to Top
Drain_Bamaged View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jul 2017
Location: Lalaland
Status: Offline
Points: 48
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Drain_Bamaged Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jul 2017 at 4:10pm
Originally posted by dinin70 dinin70 wrote:


1. All reviewers I saw are using Bios.
I should think so, unless they want to get laughed off the internet.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.345 seconds.