ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X370 Taichi SATA SSD goes missing
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

X370 Taichi SATA SSD goes missing

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 6>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
canopus View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Jul 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote canopus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X370 Taichi SATA SSD goes missing
    Posted: 01 Jul 2017 at 4:50am
i have X370 TAICHI too
WD ULTRA M2 SSD 128GB OS WIN 10 64bit
10x8TB i have problem with booting to WIN DESKTOP=stuck last step jump to desktop..it looks like still loading
 
tested=SATA1 to SATA7  without problem ... if i connected 1-8 SATA WIN stuck ... it looks like same problem like you
 
time to back this MOBO sh*t


Edited by canopus - 01 Jul 2017 at 4:51am
Back to Top
crusheddiamond View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 15 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote crusheddiamond Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2017 at 9:14pm
I am just now having these issues with my old M4 ssd with it just disappearing.

Hopefully an update is in order, plan to buy a new M.2 SSD anyway.

Can anyone suggest one that wont have this issue? NVME or not.


Back to Top
lowdog View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16 Apr 2017
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Points: 194
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lowdog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jun 2017 at 10:36am
I think these boards are flaky, I have X370 Pro Fat Gaming with 1 Intel 1TB M.2 SSD in the M.2 - 1 slot and an Intel 1TB NVMe in the M.2 - 2 slot and 3 x SSD and 1 CDrom in 4 of the standard SSD connections.

Playing games that are on my Intel 1TB M.s SSD in M.2 slot 1 and after a period of time the game freezes and I have to hard reboot and the M.2 slot 1 Intel 1TB M.2 SSD is not detected!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Have to shutdown and clrcmos for it to show again. Happens with both stock and OC settings. It's definitely either a hardware motherboard design issue or bios issue, to put it lightly it SUCKS FFS!!!!!

Had a crossfire setup and thought it was a crossfire problem with PCIe saturation or something but it happens with single card set up as well.

Edited by lowdog - 20 Jun 2017 at 10:38am
X399 Fat Pro Gaming bios 3.10 - TR4 1900X - 64GB G-SKILL TridentZ F4-3200C14Q-64GTZ @ 3133MHz - Vega 64 AIO with EK block - WC Custom loop - 1500W Silverstone PSU - yay
Back to Top
David View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote David Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 May 2017 at 11:09pm
Originally posted by Peter13779 Peter13779 wrote:

I have the same problem here using two crucial BX100 (actual firmware) drives at AHCI. Windows 10 64 bit (1703) is not installable and an installed windows (cloned from working HDD install) is not bootable on these drives connected to the AMD sata ports. The drives are missing in bios on every soft reset of the system. 

The ports using asmedia chipset are working fine with these SSD drives! 

Edit: My crucial MX100 is working fine on the AMD ports



I'm having the exact same issue with my Crucial BX100.  It's not being detected at all.




Edited by David - 10 May 2017 at 11:14pm
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Apr 2017 at 8:25am
The ASMedia SATA chipset is (and can only be) connected to one PCIe 2.0 lane, so it is bandwidth limited compared to other SATA implementations like Intel's and AMD's.
Back to Top
mchilds83 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mchilds83 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Apr 2017 at 8:11am
I hope AMD releases a driver or firmware update to resolve this problem. Too bad I just backed up all my data, formatted the drive and shipped it away for 2 weeks at my expense.

Edited by mchilds83 - 20 Apr 2017 at 8:11am
Back to Top
GenesisDoes View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 10 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 54
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GenesisDoes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Apr 2017 at 7:44am
Originally posted by mchilds83 mchilds83 wrote:

I literally just got back from shipping the drive away for RMA. I wish I had, but my testing was done on about 4 of the ports in the 1-8 range and not on the AsMedia ports. :(

It should be about a week for the product to get there, then a few days turnaround time and maybe another week before it arrives back in my hands. I'll update with my experience in early May. If I don't, remind me and I will do more testing with the new drive in ports 1-8 and in the AsMedia ports.
< ="chrome-extension://hhojmcideegachlhfgfdhailpfhgknjm/web_accessible_resources/index.js">

Yes it appears to be an issue with AMD Sata port and that particular controller. In AS Media ports (last two) there doesn't seem to be an issue but the speeds are like 20-30% lower in benchmarks when I ran them.
Taichi X370, Ryzen 1700 @ 4ghz, 32GB G.Skill TridentZ Ram, Samsung 960 EVO nvme, Intel 600P nvme, 2TB Seagate HDD, 2TB Hitachi HDD, 1TB Mushkin SSD, GTX 1080
Back to Top
mchilds83 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mchilds83 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Apr 2017 at 4:49am
I literally just got back from shipping the drive away for RMA. I wish I had, but my testing was done on about 4 of the ports in the 1-8 range and not on the AsMedia ports. :(

It should be about a week for the product to get there, then a few days turnaround time and maybe another week before it arrives back in my hands. I'll update with my experience in early May. If I don't, remind me and I will do more testing with the new drive in ports 1-8 and in the AsMedia ports.


Edited by mchilds83 - 20 Apr 2017 at 5:04am
Back to Top
ljt View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ljt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Apr 2017 at 4:14am
Originally posted by mchilds83 mchilds83 wrote:

Is this why Device Manager in Windows 10 shows 3 entries for: 'Standard SATA AHCI Controller" all with the same Microsoft driver from 2006?

One managed by the Ryzen cpu directly (2 Ports: SATA3_1 & SATA3_2)
One managed by the X370 chipset (6 Ports: SATA3_3 TO SATA3_8)
One managed by the AsMedia SATA (2 Ports: SATA_A1 & SATA_A2)

The manual, p. 28 only indicates two controllers, but perhaps there is more to this.
http://asrock.pc.cdn.bitgravity.com/Manual/X370%20Taichi.pdf

My problem was less frequent, but certainly did come back on the other ports, so I'm going to RMA the drive first. 

The ADATA SP550 SSD you have has a Silicon Motion controller (SM2256) Which is the newer version of the controller used in the SSD (Crucial BX100 using the SM2246) I was having problems with on SATA ports 1-8. 

So it could be a compatibility problem with certain Silicon Motion controllers and the AMD chipset at the moment.

Have you tried it in the last 2 ports on the board? (ASMedia ports) as that is the only way my BX100 SSD will work for now
Back to Top
mchilds83 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mchilds83 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Apr 2017 at 11:45pm
Is this why Device Manager in Windows 10 shows 3 entries for: 'Standard SATA AHCI Controller" all with the same Microsoft driver from 2006?

One managed by the Ryzen cpu directly (2 Ports: SATA3_1 & SATA3_2)
One managed by the X370 chipset (6 Ports: SATA3_3 TO SATA3_8)
One managed by the AsMedia SATA (2 Ports: SATA_A1 & SATA_A2)

The manual, p. 28 only indicates two controllers, but perhaps there is more to this.
http://asrock.pc.cdn.bitgravity.com/Manual/X370%20Taichi.pdf

My problem was less frequent, but certainly did come back on the other ports, so I'm going to RMA the drive first. 
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 6>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.172 seconds.