ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - taichi bios v2.40 (agesa 1006) is out, feedback
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

taichi bios v2.40 (agesa 1006) is out, feedback

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
Author
Message
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jun 2017 at 1:48am
try manually entering the exact timings from the ram sticker (this may be different to what the bios is auto setting)
next set the SOC volts to 1,1
enable 2t
and try that
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
GenesisDoes View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 10 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 54
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GenesisDoes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jun 2017 at 7:37am
I'm getting the same results as with the Beta Bios (2.34/2.36). My 2x16GB G.skill TridentZ F4-3200C16D-32GTZKW ram rated for 16-18-18-38 can reach 3066 (16-16-16-37). Will not post at 3200 no matter what I try. Keep in mind that for AGESA 1.0.0.4a and before, the max it would go was 2400. Command Rate 1 or 2 doesn't help matters for me so I just leave it at 1.


Taichi X370, Ryzen 1700 @ 4ghz, 32GB G.Skill TridentZ Ram, Samsung 960 EVO nvme, Intel 600P nvme, 2TB Seagate HDD, 2TB Hitachi HDD, 1TB Mushkin SSD, GTX 1080
Back to Top
Optik View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 23 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 35
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Optik Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jun 2017 at 9:17am
be happy that u can run with 3000 , u have 16gb rams.

what u can try give your cpu 1,85-1,20 vcore with 3,8 ghz ( 3,6-3,8ghz sweetspot of ryzen )with 1.1 soc voltage less  OC more dram speed.

3,8ghz 110W
3,9ghz 155W

that is 45W more 4 only 100mhz

and that is with a liquid cooler if u running with air u reach 180W because u need more vcore


Edited by Optik - 10 Jun 2017 at 9:31am
Taichi X370
AMD R7 1700X
Arctic Liquid FreeZer 240
G.Skill Flare X 3200 cl 14@2933
PowerColer RX480
Phanteks EnTHoo Luxe
BeQuiet Dark Power Pro 11 550W
Back to Top
D7omepro View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 10 Jun 2017
Location: Saudi Arabia
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote D7omepro Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jun 2017 at 9:34am
Looks like all OP taichi users are here today I have started one topic one hour ago and I need real help
Please visit my topic at the link below

http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=5347&title=whats-best-overclocking-settings-for-ryzen-1700
Back to Top
MrMajestyk View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MrMajestyk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jun 2017 at 11:21am
cool stuffClap
with beta one I knew I can run 3333 with my 2x16GB RAM so this time after enabling XMP I went straight 3333Mhz setting, 1.385v for dram, Soc 1.0, 60 Ohm, gear and power down disabled, command rate 1.
I may do some memtest later



Edited by MrMajestyk - 10 Jun 2017 at 11:40am
Back to Top
MrMajestyk View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MrMajestyk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jun 2017 at 4:14pm
quick update 3333 for ram wasn't stable, it would even freeze the bios and forced me to reset. Also 3200 with 12-12-12 or 14-12-12-12 was a no go, so have it "standart" at 3200 14-14-14-34 which is what we wanted right but a pitty that further overclocking doesn't work
still finally we got pretty much sorted
Back to Top
Velajan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Velajan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jun 2017 at 5:07pm
Well, since it looks like my other posts was purged I'm just going to post the same thing.

My ram, Corsair Vengeance LED CMU16GX4M2C3200C16 (SK Hynix), went from being able to do 2666Mhz at 18-18-18-36 to being unable to do anything over 2133mhz 15-15-15-36. It doesn't matter what timings I choose, it will not boot past 2133mhz with the AGESA 1006 update, and responds even worse when I switch the command rate from 1T to 2T where it won't boot at 2133mhz.

Voltage is at 1.35, which I have played with up to 1.45, SoC is at 1.1, which I have played with up to 1.2.

Nothing. Works.

Did I just manage to pick the absolute worst ram available?


Edited by Velajan - 10 Jun 2017 at 5:08pm
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jun 2017 at 9:09pm
another update here
after 12 hrs switched off/total off
the cold boot issue returned with /14/14/14/14 timings (its a bit better than earlier bios which wouldnt cold boot anytime even 30 secs after switching off)
trying again with a few more tweaks to bios e.g.
ram up from 1.35 to 1.375
soc up from 1.0 v to 1.1 volt
procODT now 60 ohms from auto
command rate 2T
geardown disabled

lets see if it lets it cold boot now
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jun 2017 at 10:27pm
well i didnt even get that far
i got a crash just opening up a removable data disk to copy some files over

so back to stock ram settings then...............
not much advancement in my case it seems for latest bios
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
oile View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote oile Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jun 2017 at 5:33pm
Bad experience on this 2.40 with my Hynix LPX 3000 C15 5.30 .
3200 was not stable in anyway at any setting I've tried (and trust me, I've tried EVERY setting I could).
Weird and anti scientific behaviour changing ram settings. Had to clear cmos to start clean everytime and still getting strange Debug Codes especially in cold boots.

3066 stable but not only I didn't get any noticeble improvements, with all the agesa 1.0.0.6 betas and this stable release I get a stuttering experience on Battlefield 1

Seems like data flaw to the cpu is not as smooth as 2.30 agesa 1004 in any way, and I already reported this for the previous betas.

Benchmarks and numbers seems not to show this actual drop in smoothness showing a little bit higher values, wich however do not correspond in any way to actual performance in games.

I invite you guys to test your rig not only in stress tests but also in you real world usage, with real software you use every day.
Higher numbers in FPS counters do not mean anything if the experience they give is disappointing.

Back to 2.30, exact same settings, everything smooth. 
What a disappoint.

So, summarizing, no improvements over agesa 1004 2.30, only hiccups and negative effects for my system and my Hynix ram.

Also, BankGroupSwap setting not applying at all with this "stable" release.

Could @wardog or @Xaltar please report to asrock engineers?
Thank you for sharing your experience and help each other
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.209 seconds.