ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - taichi bios v2.40 (agesa 1006) is out, feedback
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

taichi bios v2.40 (agesa 1006) is out, feedback

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: taichi bios v2.40 (agesa 1006) is out, feedback
    Posted: 09 Jun 2017 at 6:53pm
just a quick opener thread for latest taichi bios
i will install this shortly

discuss discuss discuss >>>>>
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jun 2017 at 7:24pm
its on v2.40 Tongue

first thoughts ............

i opted to reset all bios back to defaults before flashing (good advice guys)
may i say when performing the actual flashing it really took a very long time .....considerably longer than usual bios flashing were talking maybe going on for nearly 4-5 mins
allthough when finished the restart was much fasting than previous 30 second long panicy delays were used to after reset cmos etc
i then entered bios directly checked whats changed etc left it all at default and rebooted into bios again (ive read to do this with ryzen)
save an exited again and was going to let it boot direct to windows
now it performed its own double boot here
e.g. it looked like it cleared bios and was ready to jump to windows log in but rebooted itself once more (i let it do its thing) and second time it went into windows

AND HERE I AM ..................STOCK ! Shocked

off to play with bios now and test the usual overclock is stable eg 3.9 ghz
i will probably quickly test the ram first (it hasnt been an issue at all since first bios flash day one on version 1.6) ram is gskill f4-3200c15d-16gtz

Edited by datonyb - 09 Jun 2017 at 7:35pm
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jun 2017 at 8:48pm
WELL IVE MANAGED TO TIGHTEN UP THE TIMINGS ON MY RAM

3200 cl15 ram now running (including cold boot) at 14/14/14/14/35/50

im going to a speed overclock now
wish me luckWink
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 23303
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jun 2017 at 9:00pm
Awesome, good luck Thumbs Up
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jun 2017 at 9:08pm
well that didnt go well
3600 cl 16 and 2T fail to post
3433 cl 16 and 2T fail to post
it was just a quick test to be honest (copied another guys settings based on taichi and same ram as me )
due to lack of time and the fact its not going to make a huge difference to myself (it was bragging rights Wink that i tried it anyway) i will revert back to 3200 and cl14 1T

just going to go do a quick cpu clock to 3.9 to test its still stable as it was with older bios (v2.0)
then play some games to test stability (in my own lazy way haha)
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
DoctorCajon View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 03 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DoctorCajon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jun 2017 at 10:49pm
Quote Austin Powers: "Yeah, Baby, Yeah!" LOL
Gskill Ram sticks running on stock speed of 3200 and stock timings (or at least 14-14-14-36). Nice one!
Settings: XMP Profile 1, Timing Auto

I´m running these:
https://www.alternate.de/G-Skill/DIMM-32-GB-DDR4-3200-Kit-Arbeitsspeicher/html/product/1283799?

Evo still recognized by the board. I must admit I haven´t installed any game yet.
Now waiting for a Vega card and my build is completely finished Wink

Good job on the Taichi, ASrock.


Edited by DoctorCajon - 09 Jun 2017 at 10:52pm
Back to Top
quicknick View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 22 Apr 2017
Location: Romania
Status: Offline
Points: 79
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote quicknick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jun 2017 at 12:15am
Good update, but I hoped for better:
 
I'm using four sticks of Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 (two dual-channel kits, 32GB total size).
On bios 2.0 the maximum I could achieve was 2666 and SOC needed +0.1V offset. There is marked improvement after upgrading to bios 2.4, but still no 3200.

3066 seems to be stable on new bios even at CR=1T, but testing is in progress. I noticed something weird however. If I try 3200 I get the famous boot loop, after which it starts at the default 2133. But after refusing to POST at 3200, I cannot seem to make it boot again at 3066 or even lower, so I have to reset the cmos. Thus, I believe the bios is hampering my attempts to reach 3200, because after a unsuccessful try it simply disregards the changes that I make at the subsequent attempts (increasing SOC and DRAM voltages, playing with timings). Anyone experiencing this odd behaviour? Or am I doing something wrong here?

Edited by quicknick - 10 Jun 2017 at 12:17am
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jun 2017 at 1:14am
Originally posted by quicknick quicknick wrote:

Good update, but I hoped for better:
 
I'm using four sticks of Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 (two dual-channel kits, 32GB total size).
On bios 2.0 the maximum I could achieve was 2666 and SOC needed +0.1V offset. There is marked improvement after upgrading to bios 2.4, but still no 3200.

3066 seems to be stable on new bios even at CR=1T, but testing is in progress. I noticed something weird however. If I try 3200 I get the famous boot loop, after which it starts at the default 2133. But after refusing to POST at 3200, I cannot seem to make it boot again at 3066 or even lower, so I have to reset the cmos. Thus, I believe the bios is hampering my attempts to reach 3200, because after a unsuccessful try it simply disregards the changes that I make at the subsequent attempts (increasing SOC and DRAM voltages, playing with timings). Anyone experiencing this odd behaviour? Or am I doing something wrong here?


after failed boot
let it cycle beep beep beep until boots bios
then hit setup defaults/safe settings and reboot to bios
you can then try another ram setting no need to clear the cmos

if you dont reset to defaults it will keep trying the overclock falied ram speed
(its just a quicker way than resetting cmos)
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jun 2017 at 1:16am
update
managed same overclock in p states
3.9ghx at 1.306 volts LLC level 2

no reason for me to push the cpu any further for my use
(info to confirm 2.40 is as stable for me as was version v2.0)
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
Kaluzhin View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kaluzhin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jun 2017 at 1:21am
Hello fellow taichi users here is my situation: on 2.30 bios i has memory 2400(auto) and all stresstests good no blue screens and such. On 1.0.0.6 2.40 bios i COULD MANAGE TO BOOT ON NORMAL SETTINGS( kingston hyper x savage 3000 at 2933). BUT stress tests failed. Even during simple work i get blue screens. On 2400(auto) i also get blue screens. So what should i do? Roll back to 2.30 or play with 1t/2t and gear down?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.313 seconds.