ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Asrock Ab350 K4 Fatality UEFI
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Asrock Ab350 K4 Fatality UEFI

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1097
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jun 2017 at 5:41am
OK, thanks, x58haze.  I have not tried it but I think you can navigate the BIOS via the KB, perhaps that is what datonyb wants to see.  It is not really necessary to convert your disks to GPT.  If they don't need formatting, I would not bother.  My one hard disk remains MBR.
I researched "Clear CMOS" vs "Load Defaults"  and it seems clear cmos does a little more than load defaults.  It is just easier to do load defaults - no moving jumper.  Hopefully an ASRock expert will tell us if these boards work differently.  Can you post the hash codes for the BIOS file you installed?  Enjoy, John.

EDIT: I meant to ask about your KB/Mouse - wireless/wired?


Edited by MisterJ - 15 Jun 2017 at 7:22am
Back to Top
x58haze View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 26 Apr 2017
Location: Venezuela
Status: Offline
Points: 124
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote x58haze Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jun 2017 at 5:17am
I'm so disappointed of me, actually it seems that my SSD is using already the GPT when checking through device manager, but the HDD which is for backup is MBR

Windows 10 is fully updated is the version LTSB enterprise N 1607 it has security cumulative update the latest one, it has dynamic updates, everything

The bios itself are on latest too agesa 1.006, but datonyb wants me to disconnect the mouse to test my bios smooth, but how thats possible, if keyboard is not that lag in the bios but still, and but yeah ill try disconnecting mouse to see if the keyboard become more smooth. but this still to me not an option, because this motherboard has 20 days with me

But okay ill try to put everything again default, which i have do tons of time and it seems not to help.... but i will :s

Edited by x58haze - 15 Jun 2017 at 5:19am
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1097
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jun 2017 at 5:03am
x58haze, I agree with datonyb!  Make sure your system is running well before doing any kind of performance tuning.  Allow the memory to run at the SPD settings.  I guess I do not fully understand where you are right now.  I assume you have a running W10 system and updated the BIOS to the latest version.  If this is not true, please detail what you have.  Assuming I am right, I do not suggest you reinstall W10.  Just do the Load UEFI defaults, reboot and see if the BIOS "feels" better.  You never want to do a GPT and FAT32.  The Rufus procedure I saw was to create a DOS USB stick for booting and updating the BIOS using DOS before the Instant Flash was coded in the BIOS.  The USB stick for the Instant Flash BIOS update also needs to be FAT32, but DOS is not needed.  GPT and MBR are the character of the disk not the file system installed.  In most cases you want the NTFS file system.  W10 installation will format the partition you plan to install on to NTFS.  When you get this all sorted out and want to reinstall W10, then you can convert them to GPT (a newer and better disk) but the conversion will erase all the data on the disk.  Enjoy, John.
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jun 2017 at 4:06am
dont rush

first find out why the bios is very slow

as and when thats fixed then move onto speeding up other/later events

as i said in last post disconnet the mouse just to test bios speed (smoothness)

lets find out whats THAT problem before rushing into other things
try clear cmos but dont load any ram xmp settings yet (the increased speed will not show in bios )
but by removing all causes first to check its fixed then doing one thing at a time you will see whats causing the problem

fault finding is simple if you TAKE SMALL STEPS
trying to run before walking always leads to falling over .................
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
x58haze View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 26 Apr 2017
Location: Venezuela
Status: Offline
Points: 124
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote x58haze Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jun 2017 at 3:12am
So do you think that is good idea to Format my SSD, and Even the HDD that is for backup as GPT+Fat32 using the rufus, to avoid any performance decrease?

But before doing that, should I first, press f9 + clear CMOS, activate my xmp profile to 2.1 which gave me 3200 and my cpu overclock back to 3.7 ghz?

Then proceed to format my SSD, then my hdd etc etc?

Back to Top
x58haze View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 26 Apr 2017
Location: Venezuela
Status: Offline
Points: 124
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote x58haze Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jun 2017 at 3:07am
Ty for your reply, well actually I don't have any PCI sound card or ethernet card, all come by motherboard

I just have one SSD, and one HDD plus the DVD reader, just 1 keyboard 1 mouse, and my gtx 580 connected nothing else, maybe im going to disconnect the dvd, the hdd, and test to see if there any improve.
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1097
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jun 2017 at 2:40am
x58haze, if you have not performed a Load UEFI defaults, I suggest you do (F9) now (always after BIOS update).  I also suggest that you use GPT format on all disks (including SSDs).  Obviously system performance can degrade with time.  If this is caused by errors, it should show in the System Event Log.  Specifically, I would not think PS aging would cause a slow down - crashes, yes but you said you had seen none.  Enjoy, John.
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jun 2017 at 2:32am
i dont suspect the psu to be causing the problem

so to recap the board/system is very slow to respond in bios and was/is the same with earlier versions of the bios,you have changed both keyboard and mouse to rule them out

if all above is correct then i suggest
disconnecting anything that is not and will not be used to boot to bios

eg disconnect hard drives,dvd extra sound cards etc and if using 4 sticks of ram just use two sticks in a2 and b2 slots
reboot and see if its smoother

(edit even remove the mouse you need it connected to test bios loading)


Edited by datonyb - 15 Jun 2017 at 2:33am
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
x58haze View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 26 Apr 2017
Location: Venezuela
Status: Offline
Points: 124
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote x58haze Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jun 2017 at 2:28am
Yep sir, thats why i was asking if there are some Bios tweakings that I'm missing that can improve overall system performance


A question do you think SSD or Power Supply can degrade pc performance with the past of the time? i mean i don't have problems of electricity, no blue screen, not restarts, not freezing, and event viewer not showing any issue with power, but even that, this power supply i bought in 2011, thermaltake 775 watts+80
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jun 2017 at 2:14am
did it do it on earlier bios ?

[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.152 seconds.