ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - AB350M Pro4 Idle Temp Too High?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

AB350M Pro4 Idle Temp Too High?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
Denito View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Denito Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: AB350M Pro4 Idle Temp Too High?
    Posted: 28 Jun 2017 at 11:24pm
Okay, so I have no reason to worry regarding anything shown on the screenshots, yes? Because as I said, my PC is very new and I really really don't want to replace anything yet ^^'

And I appreciate the help, of course :)
Back to Top
sobekite View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 27 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 21
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sobekite Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jun 2017 at 11:22pm
Denito, 

It seems that alot of 3rd party temp/voltage monitoring programs are giving improper readings for Ryzen systems. Expect these errors to slowly go away when they are updated. 

For example, HWinfo and a few others specifically release updates to address these issues, but it seems there are still issues. From all that i've read the easiest way to get reliable readings is from Ryzen Master or from your bios. 

If you're VRMs were 90c you'd have a big problem! LOL

I also have the AB350M Pro4, so I appreciate you bringing these issues up, as I've experienced incorrect readings as well. 
R 1400 (@3.8)
AB350M Pro4 (2.50)
MSI RX580 4G
Back to Top
Denito View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Denito Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jun 2017 at 11:06pm
Oh, you mean my computer/the program has reading issues? :D
Of course it's not that hot, but I have no clue why all programs show it as being that hot...
Back to Top
delukz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 32
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote delukz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jun 2017 at 11:04pm
Originally posted by Denito Denito wrote:

Okay, so my CPU temperature is fine, but what about the Aux/VRM temperature? I mean, those are the ones that were shown in HWMonitor as being too high, no?
I already explained that in my earlier post, that's why I said you may have some reading issues. ;)
Touch the VRM heatsink and you'll see it's in no way 90c.
Back to Top
Denito View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Denito Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jun 2017 at 10:53pm
Okay, so my CPU temperature is fine, but what about the Aux/VRM temperature? I mean, those are the ones that were shown in HWMonitor as being too high, no?
Back to Top
delukz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 32
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote delukz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jun 2017 at 10:43pm
Here you go, I marked the CPU temperature blue for you.

Back to Top
Denito View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Denito Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jun 2017 at 10:25pm
Dude, I have no idea how HWInfo works or what I need to show you guys. No reading issues here, more like lacking knowledge.
Back to Top
delukz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 32
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote delukz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jun 2017 at 10:21pm
Originally posted by Denito Denito wrote:

You mean this, yes? http://imgur.com/vcv2iDs
Still shows the high temperature...
You have have some reading issues yourself, btw the actual cpu sensor is a bit further up in HWInfo64.
Back to Top
Denito View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Denito Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jun 2017 at 8:10pm
You mean this, yes? http://imgur.com/vcv2iDs
Still shows the high temperature...
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jun 2017 at 11:00am
Originally posted by Denito Denito wrote:

Hi guys,

I got a new computer a couple of weeks ago and over time, I noticed that my CPU's temperature  is way too high, even in idle.
This is my computer right now, without any programs aside of firefox running: http://imgur.com/tXvr88c
As you can see, #3 and #4 are both too high (from what I know, at least).
I already checked the screws of the fan and the CPU, they're all tight. I can't imagine the paste being the problem, since it's a prebuild and it's only two months old.
Interestingly, when I play PUBG (which usually does stress my PC), the temperature seems to be going down. But I can't imagine that being correct...
Is there anything I can do about this?

My specs are:
CPU AMD Ryzen 5 1600 Six-Core Processor
RAM 16,0GB
Motherboard ASRock AB350M Pro4 (AM4)
Graphics
  • 2460G5 (1920x1080@60Hz)
  • 2460G5 (1920x1080@59Hz)
  • 8192MB ATI Radeon RX 480 Graphics (C.P. Technology)



The Open Hardware Monitor display is virtually useless, since it does not identify any of the temperature readings. It also may not be updated to work with Ryzen systems, as well as the sensor chip used on your board. That temperatures reduce while gaming tells me it is unable to work with your board at all.

As suggested above, try using HWiNFO64 to check your CPU temperature, among others. Once you run its sensor display, you'll actually have an idea what your temperatures are like:

https://www.hwinfo.com/download.php

The suggestion about the thermal paste being bad means it was not applied correctly when the CPU cooler was mounted. But you don't know yet what your CPU temperature is.

The only thing that might tell you which CPU cooler you have is the documentation supplied with the prebuilt PC. Otherwise that is something that you can only determine by looking at the CPU cooler, and knowing from experience building PCs what CPU cooler it is. No program can read that information from anywhere.

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.172 seconds.