ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Weird characters in boot menu in X370 Taichi
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Weird characters in boot menu in X370 Taichi

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message
amitkarmakar13 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Aug 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote amitkarmakar13 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Weird characters in boot menu in X370 Taichi
    Posted: 26 Aug 2017 at 7:06pm
I am seeing weird characters in the boot menu on AsRock x370 Taichi. Any idea what could have gone wrong?

https://goo.gl/photos/4wBpmES5bd1iPz1b8
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Aug 2017 at 7:09pm

does the window for the bios screen actually show in two halves on your monitor as well like that picture ?
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
amitkarmakar13 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Aug 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote amitkarmakar13 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Aug 2017 at 7:16pm
Yes
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Aug 2017 at 9:02pm
can you try another graphics card

id be more concerned why its split screen than the extra charaters

[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
amitkarmakar13 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Aug 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote amitkarmakar13 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Aug 2017 at 6:10am
This problem happens only during the boot device selection menu. In BIOS setup everything runs fine. Also, after i disabled CSM, this problem doesn't occur. (Except that I see 3 blank entries in the boot options list)

Hoping GPU is not faulty.
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Aug 2017 at 9:15am
Please list out your hardware.
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Aug 2017 at 9:24am
Quick question ............

Do you have a BD/DVD also? By chance is it on one of the ASMedia bottom two SATA ports SATA3_A1 or SATA3_A2 ports?


Back to Top
amitkarmakar13 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Aug 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote amitkarmakar13 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Aug 2017 at 6:29pm
I have not connected any other SATA device. My Samsung EVO SSD is the only SATA device.

Also the three empty entries in the BIOS after disabling CSM look like this,

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1hFnM3sIjTH1y5PPvfv7Q-BKpF8ZO0Snj8w/view


Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Aug 2017 at 7:17pm
i have the taichi as well ,what version of bios are you on ?

[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
amitkarmakar13 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Aug 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote amitkarmakar13 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Aug 2017 at 7:39pm
This is my hardware list,

AsRock X370 Taichi
AMD Ryzen 1800X
G.Skill Trident Z 16 GB
Samsung EVO 1 TB
Corsair 750D Airflow Edition
Noctua NH-D15
Corsair RM650X
MSI GTX1080ti Gaming X

I am on bios 3.00. Also, this problem wasn't there at the beginning. After one reboot, i noticed this issue.

I found several other threads on similar problems and none of them have proper conclusions.

http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=4942&title=x370-taichi-boot-menu-graphical-issue

http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=5082&title=asrock-fatal1ty-z270-boot-menu-graphic-glitch

https://techreport.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=116125
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.199 seconds.