ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Taichi x399 dead?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Taichi x399 dead?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
TANWare View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 120
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TANWare Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Taichi x399 dead?
    Posted: 24 Dec 2017 at 9:35am
I only had the manual but it is laid out pretty good. When it was corrupted I had the same thing 100% dead.
Back to Top
jmmec View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Nov 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 21
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (2) Thanks(2)   Quote jmmec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Dec 2017 at 12:00am
Asrock has detailed instructions for flashing here:

Below are instructions + pictures on how to use the BIOS flashback feature on the Asrock website in their "FAQ" section:

https://www.asrock.com/MB/AMD/X399%20Taichi/index.us.asp#FAQ

It is under the following Question dated August 1, 2017:

Q: I'd like to install the TR4 1900X CPU on X399Taichi or X399 Prof. Gaming, what should I do?
Please refer to the following steps to update the BIOS P1.30 or later version to support TR4 1900X CPU. (2017/8/1)

The above is much more detailed than the manual, especially since it includes pictures which confirm that you only need to plug in the 24-pin power cable and flip your PSU to "ON":   it's not necessary to have the CPU installed, or other power or other cables, and you don't power up the motherboard of course.

Back to Top
zlobster View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 02 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 403
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zlobster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Dec 2017 at 10:57pm
Originally posted by TANWare TANWare wrote:

My bios got corrupted and had to do the emergency bios flash procedure. That could be something to try as well.


How does one perform emergency UEFI flash?
1700X ZP-B1 (stock); X370 Taichi (UEFI 3.10); 16GB F4-3200C14-8GFX XMP; 256GB 960 EVO; RX 580 NITRO+ 8GB
Back to Top
TANWare View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 120
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TANWare Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Dec 2017 at 10:36pm
My bios got corrupted and had to do the emergency bios flash procedure. That could be something to try as well.
Back to Top
jamesjhhan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Dec 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jamesjhhan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Dec 2017 at 2:46pm
I just ran into the same problem :-(   Did you end up RMA'ing it?  I hope this isn't a known issue with these boards.  I really liked it otherwise.
Back to Top
J Z View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 961
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote J Z Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 2017 at 3:08pm
Kind Regards,
JZ

https://shop.JZelectronic.de - Der Shop mit ausgesuchter ASRock Profi Hardware

https://www.facebook.com/asrock.de
Back to Top
J Z View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 961
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote J Z Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 2017 at 3:06pm
Hello,

TR4 with 4.1 GHz can be over 450 watts at the EPS12V 8pol, you have also connected the 4 pol (8 + 4) ?

I have an Enermax 1200 Watt connected with the X399 Taichi Smile
Kind Regards,
JZ

https://shop.JZelectronic.de - Der Shop mit ausgesuchter ASRock Profi Hardware

https://www.facebook.com/asrock.de
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 2017 at 10:30am
PSU died?

How old is/was it?
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 2017 at 10:12am
Originally posted by hebrewbacon hebrewbacon wrote:

Originally posted by Xaltar Xaltar wrote:

Try this:

http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=630&title=how-to-clear-cmos-via-battery-removal

Make sure you leave the PC disconnected from the wall for at least 1 hour. Sometimes this will resolve power issues where the protection circuits got stuck in an alarm state. 

If that does not work, I would RMA both CPU and board. Better to be safe than sorry.

That didn't work. 
Damn that sucks. I had a pretty good CPU as far as overclocking was concerned. Would hate to RMA it and get a replacement that doesn't OC as well. Guess that beats a system that doesn't work. 


If you're seeing nothing on the Dr Debug display, then that should mean the board is bad. If the board was good, and the CPU bad, then you would see a 00 code on the Dr Debug display.

I don't know if we even know at this point if the CPU is bad. Impossible to tell if the board is bad. We don't know if you had a POST beep speaker connected, and the POST beep option enabled in the UEFI/BIOS, but it seems you never get to the POST stage at all.

It may be worth waiting for just a new board to see if the CPU is dead, but that is up to you.

Back to Top
hebrewbacon View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: MD
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote hebrewbacon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 2017 at 1:48am
Originally posted by Xaltar Xaltar wrote:

Try this:

http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=630&title=how-to-clear-cmos-via-battery-removal

Make sure you leave the PC disconnected from the wall for at least 1 hour. Sometimes this will resolve power issues where the protection circuits got stuck in an alarm state. 

If that does not work, I would RMA both CPU and board. Better to be safe than sorry.

That didn't work. 
Damn that sucks. I had a pretty good CPU as far as overclocking was concerned. Would hate to RMA it and get a replacement that doesn't OC as well. Guess that beats a system that doesn't work. 
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.172 seconds.