ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Taichi x399 dead?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Taichi x399 dead?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
hebrewbacon View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: MD
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote hebrewbacon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Taichi x399 dead?
    Posted: 15 Sep 2017 at 4:01am
Hey guys,

So my computer randomly shut down yesterday and now refuses to start back up. The motherboard LEDs light up but hitting the power button does not do anything. I went through all the standard troubleshooting steps (booting with 1 stick of RAM, trying with a known working PSU from another computer, removing the GPU) but nothing seems to work. At this point, I'm not sure if the mobo or CPU is dead. My bet is on the mobo gone bad as CPUs so rarely die these days. Any suggestions before I RMA this back to Newegg?

My CPU was overclocked to 4.1Ghz @1.381V stable so nothing crazy there. 
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 16143
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2017 at 4:38am
Did you clear CMOS? I know it's obvious but you didn't mention it. You could also try the full clear by pulling the battery and letting it sit disconnected from power for an hour or so.
Back to Top
hebrewbacon View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: MD
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote hebrewbacon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2017 at 10:21am
Yes I did try clearing the CMOS. Did not try pulling the battery though. 
I've been getting conflicting opinions online based on what I've searched so far. Some say mobo is bad, others say CPU is bad. 
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2017 at 10:49am
Do you see any code on the Dr Debug display when you attempt to start the PC?

Or is the Dr Debug display off, nothing on it at all?

Did you check the power button connection on the PC case to the header on the board? Did you try the trick of shorting the two pins that connect to the power button with a screwdriver to start the board?

Sorry to ask, but both CPU power cables, plus the 24 pin power cable connected?
Back to Top
hebrewbacon View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: MD
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote hebrewbacon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2017 at 11:04am
Originally posted by parsec parsec wrote:

Do you see any code on the Dr Debug display when you attempt to start the PC?

Or is the Dr Debug display off, nothing on it at all?

Did you check the power button connection on the PC case to the header on the board? Did you try the trick of shorting the two pins that connect to the power button with a screwdriver to start the board?

Sorry to ask, but both CPU power cables, plus the 24 pin power cable connected?

The Debug display doesn't show anything at all. The board doesn't power on for it to show. No fans start up or anything like that.
I did try using both the power button and the trick of using a screwdriver to touch the power pins.
Both CPU power cables were connected. 
Basically hitting the power button does absolutely nothing. The mobo LEDs just stay on and that's about it Cry
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 16143
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2017 at 12:49pm
Try this:

http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=630&title=how-to-clear-cmos-via-battery-removal

Make sure you leave the PC disconnected from the wall for at least 1 hour. Sometimes this will resolve power issues where the protection circuits got stuck in an alarm state. 

If that does not work, I would RMA both CPU and board. Better to be safe than sorry.
Back to Top
hebrewbacon View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: MD
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote hebrewbacon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 2017 at 1:48am
Originally posted by Xaltar Xaltar wrote:

Try this:

http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=630&title=how-to-clear-cmos-via-battery-removal

Make sure you leave the PC disconnected from the wall for at least 1 hour. Sometimes this will resolve power issues where the protection circuits got stuck in an alarm state. 

If that does not work, I would RMA both CPU and board. Better to be safe than sorry.

That didn't work. 
Damn that sucks. I had a pretty good CPU as far as overclocking was concerned. Would hate to RMA it and get a replacement that doesn't OC as well. Guess that beats a system that doesn't work. 
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 2017 at 10:12am
Originally posted by hebrewbacon hebrewbacon wrote:

Originally posted by Xaltar Xaltar wrote:

Try this:

http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=630&title=how-to-clear-cmos-via-battery-removal

Make sure you leave the PC disconnected from the wall for at least 1 hour. Sometimes this will resolve power issues where the protection circuits got stuck in an alarm state. 

If that does not work, I would RMA both CPU and board. Better to be safe than sorry.

That didn't work. 
Damn that sucks. I had a pretty good CPU as far as overclocking was concerned. Would hate to RMA it and get a replacement that doesn't OC as well. Guess that beats a system that doesn't work. 


If you're seeing nothing on the Dr Debug display, then that should mean the board is bad. If the board was good, and the CPU bad, then you would see a 00 code on the Dr Debug display.

I don't know if we even know at this point if the CPU is bad. Impossible to tell if the board is bad. We don't know if you had a POST beep speaker connected, and the POST beep option enabled in the UEFI/BIOS, but it seems you never get to the POST stage at all.

It may be worth waiting for just a new board to see if the CPU is dead, but that is up to you.

Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 2017 at 10:30am
PSU died?

How old is/was it?
Back to Top
J Z View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 961
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote J Z Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 2017 at 3:06pm
Hello,

TR4 with 4.1 GHz can be over 450 watts at the EPS12V 8pol, you have also connected the 4 pol (8 + 4) ?

I have an Enermax 1200 Watt connected with the X399 Taichi Smile
Kind Regards,
JZ

https://shop.JZelectronic.de - Der Shop mit ausgesuchter ASRock Profi Hardware

https://www.facebook.com/asrock.de
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.141 seconds.