ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > OverClocking(OC) Zone > OC Technical Discussion
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - z370 Taichi/8700k OC voltages too high
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

z370 Taichi/8700k OC voltages too high

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
Globespy View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Sep 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 65
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Globespy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: z370 Taichi/8700k OC voltages too high
    Posted: 01 Jun 2019 at 10:22pm
Originally posted by amd7674 amd7674 wrote:

[URL=][/URL]
Originally posted by delatroy delatroy wrote:


Is there any way on the Taichi to measure VRM temperatures?
<span style="margin: 0px auto; border: 2px dotted rgb255, 165, 0; : ; : 2147483647; visibility: ; left: 319px; width: 1px; top: 129px; height: 1px;"></span><span style=": 2147483647; : ; visibility: ; left: 305px; width: 50px; top: 115px; height: 20px; font-size: 10px; color: black;"></span>


+1... Does anyone know how to read VRM temps?


Yep.
Get latest HWInfo64 and launch with 'sensors only':

There will be 2 entries for 'Renesas ISL69138' controller, and you can get rid of one of these simply by comparing 'VR Loop1' with the 'VR VCC Temp (SVID)' reading from your CPU.
If they match, then this is the correct controller.
'VR Loop1' is your VRM temps.

Also of note is the 'VR VOUT' reading under the same 'Renesas ISL69138' controller - this is your real vCore reading, as it's much closer to the CPU and bypasses circuit resistance.
Assuming you are running fixed voltage OC (the offset on this board is a joke) and LLC1, you will see under stress testing that 'VR VOUT' will show a lower value than 'vCore', showing just how garbage this board's tightest LLC option is, with variances in the 200mv range.

AsRock won't tell you anything about this 'VR VOUT' sensor or the Renesas Controller, saying some stuff about 'secret proprietary' info they can't divulge.
Thankfully the guy who developed HWInfo64 knows an insider who has successfully measured this data using a very expensive, calibrated oscilloscope and the 'VR VOUT' is the real vCore reading.

AsRock's complete lack of customer tech support is pretty shady, and it's difficult to understand why they even bother putting quality components in enthusiast level boards when they provide virtually no tech support.
My next PC will use Asus or Gigabyte board, with real adaptive voltage and tight LLC options that can help stabilize a higher level OC.
Back to Top
arso96 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Nov 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote arso96 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Nov 2018 at 10:19pm
reasonable is relative to your computer. Your temps are fine, delidding will obviously help.

LLC explanation (I keep mine @ llc1 w/ taichi as well)= https://youtu.be/NMIh8dTdJwI

Increasing clock speeds will increase fps as long as it's stable. Increasing your ram speed will also yield more fps, same with OC'ing GPU(your results will vary depending on hardware). Your best bet is to OC them all, why buy all that expensive gear to just let it run at stock? Pascal gpu's don't OC too well if you already have a factory oc'ed card, but it can still help fps and frametimes(1% and .01% lows which are different than just fps). You can youtube basically all these questions and see the difference with graphs.

Real bench is fine. Prime is stupid and makes your computer do things it will never do(opinion, but a strong one)
Back to Top
Globespy View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Sep 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 65
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Globespy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Nov 2018 at 7:14am
Originally posted by chinmoypborah chinmoypborah wrote:

Thanks?
Originally posted by Moderator Moderator wrote:

Banned

Why do you post this trash here

Edited by Xaltar - 04 Dec 2018 at 11:46pm
Back to Top
chinmoypborah View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 28 Oct 2018
Location: India
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote chinmoypborah Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Oct 2018 at 3:28pm
Thanks?

Originally posted by Moderator Moderator wrote:

Banned


Edited by Xaltar - 04 Dec 2018 at 11:45pm
chinmoypborah
Back to Top
Anth_iv View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Anth_iv Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Aug 2018 at 8:17pm
Should I start thinking it?ôs my motherboard and not my CPU causing me to not hit 5ghz?

8700k delidded
Taichi of course
H115i pro
Tridentz 3000/15

I try 1.37 V in bios and 50 multiplier. Running x264 for about 10 seconds max and get BSOD. Temps during that short time are about 74C

I should be able to do better than this. :(.
Back to Top
SkyCorrigan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 10 Mar 2018
Location: Chicago
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SkyCorrigan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Mar 2018 at 10:36am
You have a fixed voltage set and your voltage during idle would go down adaptively? Are you sure you are not running offset? That would explain why your vcore would go very high
Back to Top
SkyCorrigan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 10 Mar 2018
Location: Chicago
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SkyCorrigan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Mar 2018 at 10:33am
I believe so. There is a TekSyndicate video where they mention that exact thing.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u1Ya6wUAsTg
Back to Top
TAMW View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Nov 2016
Location: Norway
Status: Offline
Points: 56
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TAMW Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Feb 2018 at 1:26pm
A bit off topic here, but didn't want to make a separate thread for one question..

The Z370 Taichi, I can buy a i7 8700 non K and still overclock it freely via bclk like the old days? Or am I mistaken?
Back to Top
Dikonou View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dikonou Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Feb 2018 at 4:09am
Have a similar issue here.....

HWinfo64 shows vcore 1.344 max and core VID 1.439 but
on CPU-Z while stress testing with cinebench15 on CPU test vcore never went above 1.216!

no OC.... but i run with Cstates off and the core multiplier enabled... 4.7Ghz

Which one should i take for correct?


Edited by Dikonou - 17 Feb 2018 at 4:10am
Back to Top
amd7674 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Nov 2017
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote amd7674 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Nov 2017 at 8:43am
Originally posted by delatroy delatroy wrote:


Is there any way on the Taichi to measure VRM temperatures?



+1... Does anyone know how to read VRM temps?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.