ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - threadripper ram problem (jbmerrill)
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

threadripper ram problem (jbmerrill)

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
lowdog View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16 Apr 2017
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Points: 194
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lowdog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: threadripper ram problem (jbmerrill)
    Posted: 25 Jan 2018 at 5:58am
M.2 SSD not recognised.....update to the latest bios!
X399 Fat Pro Gaming bios 3.10 - TR4 1900X - 64GB G-SKILL TridentZ F4-3200C14Q-64GTZ @ 3133MHz - Vega 64 AIO with EK block - WC Custom loop - 1500W Silverstone PSU - yay
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1097
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jan 2018 at 4:38am
jbmerrill, here are the instructions for creating a RAID:
For SATA array.
1. Boot into BIOS, hit F9 then F10
2. Boot into BIOS, set SATA mode to RAID
3. Set CSM to disable
4. F10
5. boot into BIOS
6. use RAIDXpert2 (RX2) to delete all drives you want included in the RAID and any
    arrays not needed
7. Create array, selecting each of your drives, one by one
8. F10
9. Boot into Boot Menu (F11)
10. Select install USB.  You should see UEFI only version.
11. Install the RAID drivers in this order:
   1-rcbottom - all your drives in the RAID will disappear
   2-rcraid - you will see your one RAID
   3-rccfg - you are good to go!
12. Install W10 on the RAID.
13. Enjoy.

If you are creating an NVMe RAID:

1. Boot into BIOS, hit F9 then F10
2. Boot into BIOS, in PBS set NVMe RAID to Enabled
3. Set CSM to disable
4. F10
5. boot into BIOS
6. use RX2 to delete all drives you want included in the RAID and any
    arrays not needed
7. Create array, selecting each of your drives, one by one
8. F10
9. Boot into Boot Menu (F11)
10. Select install USB.  You should see UEFI only version.
11. Install the RAID drivers in this order:
   1-rcbottom - all your drives in the RAID will disappear
   2-rcraid - you will see your one RAID
   3-rccfg - you are good to go!
12. Install W10 on the RAID.
13. Enjoy.

As far as the missing SSD is concerned, please make sure it is seated properly and essentially parallel to the board.  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
jbmerrill View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 02 Jan 2018
Location: California
Status: Offline
Points: 103
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jbmerrill Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jan 2018 at 12:59am
Hello,

I RMA'd the motherboard, and now all is well. I am able to run 128GB G.Skill TridentZ 3200 RGB at ~3000Mhz I think.

Now my problem is getting RAID0 to work. and in the process of replacing the board, one of my m.2 SATA SSDs is no longer recognized. Will have to be looking into these.

Thanks for all your help and advice.

Bryan
X399 Pro Gaming, 2990wx Threadripper,128GB G.Skill RGB 3200,EVGA 1200 P2,EVGA GTX 1080 Ti x 2 SLI, Enermax Liqtech 360mm,Samsung 970 EVO/960 Pro/850 EVOs, Toshiba x300 HDDs, Thermaltake Chaser MK-1
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1097
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 2018 at 3:23am
Thanks, jbmerrill.  Hope all goes well.  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
jbmerrill View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 02 Jan 2018
Location: California
Status: Offline
Points: 103
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jbmerrill Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 2018 at 1:47am
Hello,

To update this thread,

I confirmed that my CPU socket pins were bent, and this should be the cause of my memory problems. I have RMAed the motherboard, and am waiting to hear the status from ASRock support.

Thanks for all your help.

Bryan
X399 Pro Gaming, 2990wx Threadripper,128GB G.Skill RGB 3200,EVGA 1200 P2,EVGA GTX 1080 Ti x 2 SLI, Enermax Liqtech 360mm,Samsung 970 EVO/960 Pro/850 EVOs, Toshiba x300 HDDs, Thermaltake Chaser MK-1
Back to Top
jbmerrill View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 02 Jan 2018
Location: California
Status: Offline
Points: 103
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jbmerrill Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jan 2018 at 7:51am
You are absolutely right. I must sound like a whiner.

Thanks for all your help.
X399 Pro Gaming, 2990wx Threadripper,128GB G.Skill RGB 3200,EVGA 1200 P2,EVGA GTX 1080 Ti x 2 SLI, Enermax Liqtech 360mm,Samsung 970 EVO/960 Pro/850 EVOs, Toshiba x300 HDDs, Thermaltake Chaser MK-1
Back to Top
zlobster View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 02 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 403
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zlobster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jan 2018 at 12:47am
Bryan, will you PLEASE RMA the mobo already? Heart Believe me, wondering what to do won't solve anything! Man up and do what needs to be done. Sometimes life is like that.

I know it's a huge pain in the azz to disassemble the whole system. Heck, I'd even do it for you but I think we're pretty far from each other geographically.

Don't worry, touch carefully and you won't break anything.

Over and out! Whooosh!
1700X ZP-B1 (stock); X370 Taichi (UEFI 3.10); 16GB F4-3200C14-8GFX XMP; 256GB 960 EVO; RX 580 NITRO+ 8GB
Back to Top
jbmerrill View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 02 Jan 2018
Location: California
Status: Offline
Points: 103
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jbmerrill Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 10:56pm
So, would it do me any good to RMA just my RAM and purchase the FlareX (2933mhz) 128gb kit, or do you also think I should RMA the motherboard as suggested?

I'm dreading pulling apart my comp to get the board out and fear damaging something. I spent so much time building and assembling it.
X399 Pro Gaming, 2990wx Threadripper,128GB G.Skill RGB 3200,EVGA 1200 P2,EVGA GTX 1080 Ti x 2 SLI, Enermax Liqtech 360mm,Samsung 970 EVO/960 Pro/850 EVOs, Toshiba x300 HDDs, Thermaltake Chaser MK-1
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 5:54am
i must disagree with your disagreement

the 3200cl14 flarex does seem to have identical timings as tridentz 3200cl14

and they both have samsung b dies ,so where is the difference?

and flarex have some good gains with minor tweaking including lower boot times

so as i said and still stand by
"need tweaking to work well"
working stable and working well are two different things
timings like trfc/tfaw/tcke etc all are able to run much tighter even at higher speeds of ram and one or two subtimings generally get faster boot and better stability by have very slightly looser timings set
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
zlobster View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 02 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 403
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zlobster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 5:19am
Originally posted by datonyb datonyb wrote:

i would go with the rma of the board

 Me too
Originally posted by datonyb datonyb wrote:


i would hold onto the ram myself

I wouldn't. RMA them as well. Mofos are already charging a kidney for these, let them too sweat a little.

Originally posted by datonyb datonyb wrote:

i
the sticks are basically no different from the flarex apart from heatspreaders


Not granted 100%. Even different Flair series can have different chips, let alone different models.

Originally posted by datonyb datonyb wrote:

i
this amd ready gskill ram isnt quite as foolproof as gskill would have you believe
BOTH tridentz and flarex still need minor tweaking to work well on amd


I wouldn't generalize. My FlareX started purring like a kitten since day 1. No issues whatsoever, no any need for additional tweaking.


Edited by zlobster - 12 Jan 2018 at 5:22am
1700X ZP-B1 (stock); X370 Taichi (UEFI 3.10); 16GB F4-3200C14-8GFX XMP; 256GB 960 EVO; RX 580 NITRO+ 8GB
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.217 seconds.