ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - AB350 Gaming-ITX/ac - BIOS 4.40 bricked it
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

AB350 Gaming-ITX/ac - BIOS 4.40 bricked it

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message
matthoz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote matthoz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: AB350 Gaming-ITX/ac - BIOS 4.40 bricked it
    Posted: 17 Jan 2018 at 8:19pm
Hi there,

I've got a serious problem with my new AB350 Gaming ITX/ac mainboard.

Short:
Yesterday I've flashed BIOS 3.60 because the description said it is needed before updating to 4.40. Today I've flashed 4.40 and now the system hangs when showing the ASRock bootup screen. I cannot enter bios, instant flash or boot menu anymore. CMOS Reset did not help. This occurred immediately after the first boot when BIOS was flashed.

I am using the A12-9800E APU with ballistix sport 8GB Kit DDR4 2400.

Why did I flash the bios?

As I said I've just received the board yesterday and I installed Ubuntu Mate on it. No matter which linux distro, linux boot screens were not working, because the board seems not to be able to run my ASUS monitor on 75hz. It worked with any 60hz monitor. So I've tried the bios updated to fix this issue...

I can't even flash back. Should I send the mainboard back to amazon, or does anybody have any tipps on how to solve this problem?
Back to Top
matthoz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote matthoz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 2018 at 8:34pm
Switching the screen by pressing TAB is working, but when I press DEL or F2 nothing happens. system freezes. same for F6 (Instant flash). When I press F11 for boot menu after I've pressed TAB there is an output "Enteroing boot menu" but nothing happens.

CTRL-ALT + DEL will work all time...

Any ideas?
Back to Top
matthoz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote matthoz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 2018 at 8:36pm
I've now tried to run it with only one ram and without SSD. Still cannot enter bios. Did another cmos reset after removing the ram...
Back to Top
kerberos_20 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Location: czech republic
Status: Offline
Points: 3657
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kerberos_20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 2018 at 8:38pm
hard to say if u dont have dr debug led
try to unplug everything from your mobo, clear cmos, start mobo (empty mobo)
then plug cpu, ram gpu and keyboard...see what that will do
if u pass this step keep pluging devices until u find culprit
Back to Top
matthoz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote matthoz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 2018 at 8:44pm
Thanks for your reply. The only thing left, I can remove is the CPU. I've also started it without ram a few minutes ago. Anyone else has tried BIOS 4.40?

I really don't want to remove the cooler and cpu, but I will give it a try. If it doesn't work, I will have to send it back... No time for such crap.
Back to Top
zlobster View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 02 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 403
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zlobster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 2018 at 8:46pm
OP, did you update to P3.60 before updating to P4.40?
1700X ZP-B1 (stock); X370 Taichi (UEFI 3.10); 16GB F4-3200C14-8GFX XMP; 256GB 960 EVO; RX 580 NITRO+ 8GB
Back to Top
matthoz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote matthoz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 2018 at 8:50pm
Yes I've updated to 3.60 before 4.40, as mentioned in my first post. I had both updates on same stick and when updating the first time, it only let me choose 3.60 anyways..
Back to Top
matthoz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote matthoz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 2018 at 8:54pm
Ok, even removed the CPU and "started" (It won't start anything without cpu... cooler didn't move) - Plugged in everything again. Same result. ASRock screen shows. can be changed to oldschool boot screen by pressing TAB, but no other actions will work, except CTRL + ALT + DEL for reboot... :(
Back to Top
zlobster View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 02 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 403
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zlobster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 2018 at 8:54pm
May I suggest RMA then?
1700X ZP-B1 (stock); X370 Taichi (UEFI 3.10); 16GB F4-3200C14-8GFX XMP; 256GB 960 EVO; RX 580 NITRO+ 8GB
Back to Top
matthoz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote matthoz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 2018 at 8:57pm
I'll return it to amazon. They will send me a new board as soon as I request return. But the question is, what just happened here. Will it happen again when I flash 3.60 and 4.40 to the next board as well?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.344 seconds.