ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Ultra M.2 SSD not detected?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Ultra M.2 SSD not detected?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
Bagman1972 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Aug 2021
Location: Florida
Status: Offline
Points: 65
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bagman1972 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Ultra M.2 SSD not detected?
    Posted: 15 Aug 2021 at 7:31am
I have been looking around for an answer for this problem and waiting for a call from support. I just thought I had it figured out today and then no. Everyone looks for the M.2 drive in bios but if you hit F-11 while booting for boot order, there it is. I used a copy program and bit by bit copied my boot 2.5" SSD over to the PNY NVME and tried to boot from it and Voila" off it went. Then 8 seconds later a blue screen stating there was an error. "This is a device you're not supposed to be booting from". Brick wall. It wanted to but Windows 10 jumps in and says Whoa no!
I guess I'll wait for my E-mail response from support next week.
Back to Top
KcXbox View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 27 Dec 2020
Location: Kansas City
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote KcXbox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Dec 2020 at 10:45am
My ssd is nvme and will only show up in the slower m2 port. I'm going to try moving my graphics card to the bottom pcie and move the Evo 970nvme back to the ultra slot to see if it was just a problem with the GPU and nvme trying to use the same channel.
I'll let you know when I find out.
Back to Top
Cosmoludo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 05 Dec 2020
Location: Aucrug
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cosmoludo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Dec 2020 at 8:29pm
In case someone is reading through this as I was with no fix. This worked for me:

As rock z97 formula oc, 1080ti, Samsung 970 evo 1TB 4790k

*Graphics card out and using hdmi on mobo.*

Update mobo to 2.4 beta
Turn off cms in bios( after you have reset all settings.)
Shutdown insert win10 boot up usb (In the back) and remove all drives from mobile.
Startup and Install win10 as now m.2 will show up
When complete Enter bios and then turn cms back on you will now see windows boot manager as 1st boot choice.

Graphics card won?t work as m.2 is using x16 (as much as I know) so now you need to set pcie to ?gen 2??in the bios which I?m guessing sets it to x8 so now it will recognise graphics card.

Only thing i don?t know is if this will bottleneck my 1080 but I don?t think it?s fancy enough to make a difference.

As I said old thread but it would of saved me a lot of time to get the answer here.





Back to Top
CamNielsen View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 23 Feb 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 24
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote CamNielsen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jun 2018 at 6:16am
I had similar issues with a Samsung 960 Pro on my ab350 pro4 and never got a satisfactory resolution...I suppose I should process an RMA at this point before I lapse out of my manufacturers warranty.

Super frustrating because the errors seemed to be non-repeatable and it would boot/fail to boot with identical settings.
Ryzen 7 1700X
AB350 Pro4 ATX
Trident Z 16GB (2x8)
Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
Toshiba P300 3.5 TB 7200 RPM
Asus - GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Windows 10 Pro OEM 64-bit
Back to Top
kerberos_20 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Location: czech republic
Status: Offline
Points: 3657
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kerberos_20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jun 2018 at 3:10am
Originally posted by zkrammes91 zkrammes91 wrote:

What's an RMA? My m.2 SanDisk SSD isn't showing up on my bios or in drives. Need help. Have aroock Mobo: asrock ab350 pro4 and SSD: SanDisk SD8SN8U-128G-1122 X 400 M.2 SSD 128GB

thats because your board doesnt support sata drive in ultra m.2 slot, its nvme only
m2_2 is sata only, so put it there
Back to Top
zkrammes91 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16 Jun 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zkrammes91 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jun 2018 at 12:26am
What's an RMA? My m.2 SanDisk SSD isn't showing up on my bios or in drives. Need help. Have aroock Mobo: asrock ab350 pro4 and SSD: SanDisk SD8SN8U-128G-1122 X 400 M.2 SSD 128GB
Back to Top
resonantace View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Feb 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote resonantace Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Mar 2018 at 1:56pm
What ended up happening was I needed an RMA for the motherboard. IF you ask nicely they can do an advanced RMA so you don't lose any time. I RMA'd both the SSD and the MB and it turned out to be a MB problem. If you don't have an alternative drive or MB to test, I'd suggest choosing one of the two and doing an RAM. If it's the MB, it would be an interesting thing to bring up to ASRock.

ASRock AB350 Pro4, R5 1600, 2TB 7200RPM 6Gb/s HDD, Mushkin Blackline 2x8Gb 2400, Windows 10 x64 Home, Corsair CXM550, GTX 1070 Ti, BIOS 4.40
Back to Top
Accelerator View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Accelerator Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Mar 2018 at 8:34am
I have an exact same SSD and M/B as in OP and have the exact same issue
Back to Top
resonantace View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Feb 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote resonantace Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2018 at 7:43am
I tried that link and both methods do not work.  I tried CSM off and Storage OpROM Policy to UEFI-only but the drive didn't appear in the Windows install with either options?

ASRock AB350 Pro4, R5 1600, 2TB 7200RPM 6Gb/s HDD, Mushkin Blackline 2x8Gb 2400, Windows 10 x64 Home, Corsair CXM550, GTX 1070 Ti, BIOS 4.40
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2018 at 5:02am
http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=1236&title=how-to-install-windows-on-a-pcie-ssd
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.188 seconds.