ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Boot issue with Asrock X370 Taichi + firmware 4.40
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Boot issue with Asrock X370 Taichi + firmware 4.40

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
shmerl View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 237
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Boot issue with Asrock X370 Taichi + firmware 4.40
    Posted: 14 Feb 2018 at 9:43am
I just updated firmware to the latest one: 3.20 -> 3.30 -> 4.40, and noticed a weird issue with UEFI boot detection.

Previously, I had CSM module disabled, and it booted just fine with my Debian Linux (UEFI installation on

WDC WD2003FZEX-00Z4SA0 hard drive).


After the update, firmware failed to see the disk completely, it doesn't even show up in storage on SATA in the UI. I started playing with different settings, and switched CSM boot module on (legacy only). To my surprise, firmware detected the disk (after reboot), and it boots just fine into the OS.


It doen't make any sense though. CSM / legacy should mean to support non UEFI boot, and it still doesn't make sense that the disk doesn't show up without it. Some bug?



Edited by shmerl - 14 Feb 2018 at 9:44am
Back to Top
shmerl View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 237
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Feb 2018 at 10:32pm
No one encountered anything like that?
Back to Top
kerberos_20 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Location: czech republic
Status: Offline
Points: 562
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kerberos_20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Feb 2018 at 11:23pm
if that drive has mbr (legacy) instead of gpt (uefi) than maybe thats why?
https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/14185108
Back to Top
shmerl View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 237
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Feb 2018 at 1:14pm
Nope, the drive has proper GPT partitions. The strange thing is, it was booting just fine with CSM disabled until this firmware upgrade. So I suspect it's some kind of a bug.


Edited by shmerl - 20 Feb 2018 at 1:15pm
Back to Top
Onslaught2k3 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 21 Apr 2017
Location: Toronto, Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 20
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Onslaught2k3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Feb 2018 at 5:06pm
I second this issue.  Not sure if it exists in the beta 4.41 BIOS.  It is unusually long with CSM disabled, whereas with 3.2/3.3 it works fine.  Enabling CSM will make BIOS boot at regular speeds.  However, I am not using linux and my drives still get detected regardless.


Edited by Onslaught2k3 - 20 Feb 2018 at 5:07pm
Back to Top
shmerl View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 237
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Feb 2018 at 5:50am
Originally posted by Onslaught2k3 Onslaught2k3 wrote:

I second this issue.  Not sure if it exists in the beta 4.41 BIOS.  It is unusually long with CSM disabled, whereas with 3.2/3.3 it works fine.  Enabling CSM will make BIOS boot at regular speeds.  However, I am not using linux and my drives still get detected regardless.


Yeah, during that long pause I see an underscore cursor on the screen for a while. Except for me it goes back into the setup UI instead of booting.
Back to Top
Windows98 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 22
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Windows98 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Feb 2018 at 9:42am
After much trial and error I can also confirm odd behavior with CSM (albeit on the K4 Gaming).

On v3.40, my machine booted and worked completely fine with CSM disabled.

Since updating to 4.50, I have to boot with CSM enabled otherwise my machine hangs during post (Dr Debug code 0E). 


Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1097
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Feb 2018 at 10:23am
Windows98, we know nothing about your system.  Please post your specifications in your signature as I have and better yet start a new thread.  Why are you playing with CSM?  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
shmerl View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 237
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Feb 2018 at 10:16am
I managed to narrow down the problem.

Asrock X370 Taichi lists SATA connectors as:

SATA3_1
SATA3_2
...
SATA3_8
SATA3_A1
SATA3_A2


Apparently, A1-A2 are ports of the ASMedia chipset, while the rest are ports from the AMD chipset.

Here is what I see in lspci:

03:00.1 SATA controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device 43b5 (rev 02)
20:00.0 SATA controller: ASMedia Technology Inc. ASM1062 Serial ATA Controller (rev 02)
2f:00.2 SATA controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH SATA Controller [AHCI mode] (rev 51)


My hard drive was connected to one of the ASMedia chipset ports (A1), and when CSM is disabled, firmware doesn't see the hard drive at all. It sees it when CSM is enabled.

When I connect the hard drive to AMD chipset ports, the hard drive is seen in both cases, and the problem doesn't come up. This definitely looks like a bug to me.

And on a side note, which chipset is better to use for the primary hard drive? Is any of them performing better?


Edited by shmerl - 25 Feb 2018 at 10:20am
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2854
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Feb 2018 at 12:21am
the am4 direct sata of course
it talks direct to the cpu and not to the asmedia and than thru a gimped pcie channel/bus
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.