ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - BIOS 4.43 on AB350 ITX board
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

BIOS 4.43 on AB350 ITX board

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
nanohead View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Feb 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 80
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nanohead Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: BIOS 4.43 on AB350 ITX board
    Posted: 22 Feb 2018 at 3:27am
Well, happened to see the post here that the link went live.  DLed it, and just did the update.  Really good so far.

Temps are fixed.
Clock Speeds aren't dancing around anymore.
AIDA 64 is now accurate on fans, temps, clocks and RAM stats
Ryzen Master is now consistent with F-Stream and AIDA64
F-Stream is now working properly.

Didn't try any CPU overclocking (don't care that much) but I do have Cool and Quiet turned off (this avoids all those nuisance system level firmware error messages in the event log)

Currently running at 39C, with CPU fan at 866 RPM.   Very respectable indeed.

Not sure if the graphics corruption is fixed yet.  Had major problems on powerpoint and other work software since the upgrade, but am testing now.   That might be Radeon software that is wonky.
Back to Top
aguslestari View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16 Feb 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote aguslestari Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2018 at 9:19pm
Originally posted by nanohead nanohead wrote:

Well, happened to see the post here that the link went live.  DLed it, and just did the update.  Really good so far.

Temps are fixed.
Clock Speeds aren't dancing around anymore.
AIDA 64 is now accurate on fans, temps, clocks and RAM stats
Ryzen Master is now consistent with F-Stream and AIDA64
F-Stream is now working properly.

Didn't try any CPU overclocking (don't care that much) but I do have Cool and Quiet turned off (this avoids all those nuisance system level firmware error messages in the event log)

Currently running at 39C, with CPU fan at 866 RPM.   Very respectable indeed.

Not sure if the graphics corruption is fixed yet.  Had major problems on powerpoint and other work software since the upgrade, but am testing now.   That might be Radeon software that is wonky.

How about  shared memory ? 


Edited by aguslestari - 22 Feb 2018 at 9:19pm
Back to Top
JohnM View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Feb 2018
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 267
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JohnM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2018 at 10:23pm
Originally posted by aguslestari aguslestari wrote:

Well, happened to see the post here that the link went live.  How about  shared memory ? 

No longer limited to 2GB. I'm not sure what the new limit is because I have 16 GB of RAM and 16 GB was offered. FWIW I set mine to 128 MB.


Edited by JohnM - 22 Feb 2018 at 10:24pm
ASRock Fatal1ty AB350 ITX P4.90, AMD Ryzen 5 2400G, 2x8GB Corsair CMK16GX4M2A2666C16, 250GB Samsung 960EVO, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 4TB WD Blue, Windows 10 Pro 64, Corsair SF450, Cooler Master Elite 110
Back to Top
stree View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 17 Dec 2015
Location: Lincolnshire
Status: Offline
Points: 264
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote stree Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Feb 2018 at 12:05am
Only one issue with mine since BIOS 4.43, but it must be co-incidence, because as far as I know the problem I now have is a Windows issue  ( I am on win10-pro 64 bit)
Since the BIOS update the sleep option on the start button has vanished. I have shut down and restart only. Not in the options when I go into powerplans etc..
Only mentioning it because I have used the sleep options and wake on keyboard for years without a problem, so it i strange I get issues at the exact time I update to this BIOS.

Apart from that seems to be running great!  was down to 20c on idle this morning with fan set to silent mode. cool n quiet


ASRock X370-ITX BIOS 4.50
R5 2600    Cryorig C7
EVGA GTX 950 75w
2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 2933
960Evo M.2 256GB, Firecuda 1TB
Win 10 Pro 64 1803
G-Unique Archdaemon 300 Watt
Lian-li Q21B
Back to Top
JohnM View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Feb 2018
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 267
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JohnM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Feb 2018 at 12:43am
I'm using Windows 10 Pro 64-bit too and I do have Sleep as an option under "Shut down or sign out". I started off using the AMD Ryzen Balanced power profile but modified it to never let the computer sleep and I also set the monitor sleep time to 20 minutes. I did these changes under the P4.40 BIOS and haven't touched them since upgrading to L4.43. I don't use Sleep. I either leave it running or shut it down.
ASRock Fatal1ty AB350 ITX P4.90, AMD Ryzen 5 2400G, 2x8GB Corsair CMK16GX4M2A2666C16, 250GB Samsung 960EVO, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 4TB WD Blue, Windows 10 Pro 64, Corsair SF450, Cooler Master Elite 110
Back to Top
stree View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 17 Dec 2015
Location: Lincolnshire
Status: Offline
Points: 264
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote stree Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Feb 2018 at 12:57am
Originally posted by JohnM JohnM wrote:

I'm using Windows 10 Pro 64-bit too and I do have Sleep as an option under "Shut down or sign out". I started off using the AMD Ryzen Balanced power profile but modified it to never let the computer sleep and I also set the monitor sleep time to 20 minutes. I did these changes under the P4.40 BIOS and haven't touched them since upgrading to L4.43. I don't use Sleep. I either leave it running or shut it down.


Strangely enough I do now have "Hibernate" as an option that was never there before.
Tried it,but it was more like shut down, no  wake on keyboard, had to use pwr button to get back to windows, which then presented me with a password screen...and I do not have a password! so rebooted pressing F8, and it went straight into the screen I had left  open when I tried hibernate.
So in a long winded way, it worked, but until I find a fix I will just turn off the monitor or shut down..

I will go back in and see what the Ryzen power settings are, although I have never used it before.
ASRock X370-ITX BIOS 4.50
R5 2600    Cryorig C7
EVGA GTX 950 75w
2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 2933
960Evo M.2 256GB, Firecuda 1TB
Win 10 Pro 64 1803
G-Unique Archdaemon 300 Watt
Lian-li Q21B
Back to Top
JohnM View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Feb 2018
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 267
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JohnM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Feb 2018 at 2:40am
I used to use Hibernate on an old Windows XP laptop. In case you're unsure of the difference, Sleep keeps everything in RAM and powers everything else down with just enough circuitry active to keep the RAM refreshed; Hibernate writes the whole of the RAM contents to a file on disk then sets a boot flag and shuts down. Wake from Sleep is almost instantaneous; wake from Hibernate is rather like booting except that the boot flag is noticed and the contents of RAM are loaded from disk instead. Sleep uses power to keep the RAM alive; Hibernate is a true power-off state and can be maintained indefinitely. They are both useful for preserving the state of the system and running applications but, as I said, I prefer either to leave my computer running or else shut it down and start it cleanly. They are a lot more useful on a laptop than a desktop. With an NVMe boot drive it's way quicker to boot from cold than it used to be.
ASRock Fatal1ty AB350 ITX P4.90, AMD Ryzen 5 2400G, 2x8GB Corsair CMK16GX4M2A2666C16, 250GB Samsung 960EVO, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 4TB WD Blue, Windows 10 Pro 64, Corsair SF450, Cooler Master Elite 110
Back to Top
JohnM View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Feb 2018
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 267
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JohnM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Feb 2018 at 2:48am
In Windows take a look at

  Control Panel > All Control Panel Items > Power Options 

and click on "Choose what the power buttons do" then see the "Shut-down settings" at the bottom. If you want to change anything you might need to click on "Change settings that are currently unavailable".

Well, that's how to change things. Quite how they got changed "by themselves" I have no idea.
ASRock Fatal1ty AB350 ITX P4.90, AMD Ryzen 5 2400G, 2x8GB Corsair CMK16GX4M2A2666C16, 250GB Samsung 960EVO, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 4TB WD Blue, Windows 10 Pro 64, Corsair SF450, Cooler Master Elite 110
Back to Top
stree View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 17 Dec 2015
Location: Lincolnshire
Status: Offline
Points: 264
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote stree Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Feb 2018 at 2:56am
Thanks, more or less as I understood it.  I suppose I have got used to just opting for sleep and then coming back to it and waking with a touch of a key.
I usually have one or more tabs of interest on screen at packing up time, so very convenient to just resume as was.  I realise hibernate will do exactly that, but the long winded procedure ( compared to sleep/wake on key)  of it really does not appeal.
So I will just power down the monitor  instead of sleep and do a full shut down as and when needed.
ASRock X370-ITX BIOS 4.50
R5 2600    Cryorig C7
EVGA GTX 950 75w
2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 2933
960Evo M.2 256GB, Firecuda 1TB
Win 10 Pro 64 1803
G-Unique Archdaemon 300 Watt
Lian-li Q21B
Back to Top
JohnM View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Feb 2018
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 267
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JohnM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Feb 2018 at 5:23am
Did you try re-enabling Sleep in Control Panel, like I suggested? You can also disable Hibernate if you don't want it. Maybe you missed that post.
ASRock Fatal1ty AB350 ITX P4.90, AMD Ryzen 5 2400G, 2x8GB Corsair CMK16GX4M2A2666C16, 250GB Samsung 960EVO, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 4TB WD Blue, Windows 10 Pro 64, Corsair SF450, Cooler Master Elite 110
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.266 seconds.