ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - AB350 Pro4 RAM
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

AB350 Pro4 RAM

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
allizbwen View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 Apr 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote allizbwen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: AB350 Pro4 RAM
    Posted: 30 Apr 2018 at 10:52am
I am building a system on this board and I am trying to figure out the best RAM options. I has hoping for some Samsung b die 3200, but those options do not really exist on this board's QVL.

For example -- https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820232408&ignorebbr=1 -- will that RAM work on the board or no dice?

Anyone have any recommendations on b die for this board?

I am new to this and am just trying to figure it all out -- thanks for the help!
Back to Top
Reinvented View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 113
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Reinvented Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Apr 2018 at 12:16pm
Just because it's not on the QVL list, doesn't mean that it won't work.  It just means that the XMP profile can't be activated, and you'd have to work a little harder and manually input timings.  And yes, the kit you linked should work just fine.  
Back to Top
PatriotVipers View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 19 Apr 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 47
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PatriotVipers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Apr 2018 at 3:45pm
Originally posted by Reinvented Reinvented wrote:

Just because it's not on the QVL list, doesn't mean that it won't work.  It just means that the XMP profile can't be activated, and you'd have to work a little harder and manually input timings.  And yes, the kit you linked should work just fine.  

Just to be clear here, I think what you mean to say is that every memory chip on the QVL list for an AB350M Pro4 motherboard is recognized by the BIOS on power up, which means that it will automatically read the XMP data from the memory chips and run the memory at that speed.

Honestly, this raises a question for me though. Does ASRock BIOS attempt to run the QVL memory at the fastest XMP memory speeds it recognizes?

If the memory chips are not recognized by the BIOS at power on you can still activate the XMP in the BIOS manually. I had to do this for my memory kit. My memory kit is rated @ 3000MHz and would always boot up @ 2133MHz in this motherboard. So, I specifically had to enable XMP in the BIOS and select a memory speed and the timings for that memory speed. It wasn't very fun at all. The next BIOS will probably make it easier for the next guy but I got it done the hard way.

My memory model # is on the QVL list for this motherboard using a Raven Ridge CPU but you'll notice ASRock sometimes follows up model numbers with additional numbers in parentheses. If you see these additional numbers in parentheses be very cautious about choosing the memory kit even if you match the model numbers up. Because it's very hard to know for sure exactly what memory dies you'll end up getting. This is my case exactly although I've been fortunate enough to figure out some stable timings for my system through trial and error.



Edited by PatriotVipers - 30 Apr 2018 at 3:47pm
System: AMD 2200G, ASRock AB350M Pro4, 16GB(2x8GB) 3000MHz Patriot Vipers (running @ 2134MHz *crying*).
Back to Top
donalgodon View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 21 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 90
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote donalgodon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 May 2018 at 8:40am
Originally posted by PatriotVipers PatriotVipers wrote:

Originally posted by Reinvented Reinvented wrote:

Just because it's not on the QVL list, doesn't mean that it won't work.  It just means that the XMP profile can't be activated, and you'd have to work a little harder and manually input timings.  And yes, the kit you linked should work just fine.  

Just to be clear here, I think what you mean to say is that every memory chip on the QVL list for an AB350M Pro4 motherboard is recognized by the BIOS on power up, which means that it will automatically read the XMP data from the memory chips and run the memory at that speed.

Honestly, this raises a question for me though. Does ASRock BIOS attempt to run the QVL memory at the fastest XMP memory speeds it recognizes?

If the memory chips are not recognized by the BIOS at power on you can still activate the XMP in the BIOS manually. I had to do this for my memory kit. My memory kit is rated @ 3000MHz and would always boot up @ 2133MHz in this motherboard. So, I specifically had to enable XMP in the BIOS and select a memory speed and the timings for that memory speed. It wasn't very fun at all. The next BIOS will probably make it easier for the next guy but I got it done the hard way.

My memory model # is on the QVL list for this motherboard using a Raven Ridge CPU but you'll notice ASRock sometimes follows up model numbers with additional numbers in parentheses. If you see these additional numbers in parentheses be very cautious about choosing the memory kit even if you match the model numbers up. Because it's very hard to know for sure exactly what memory dies you'll end up getting. This is my case exactly although I've been fortunate enough to figure out some stable timings for my system through trial and error.


XMP profiles aren't loaded by default. The default is to run at the RAM module's rated speed. XMP must be set manually in the BIOS.
Back to Top
PatriotVipers View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 19 Apr 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 47
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PatriotVipers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 May 2018 at 9:23am
Originally posted by donalgodon donalgodon wrote:

XMP profiles aren't loaded by default. The default is to run at the RAM module's rated speed. XMP must be set manually in the BIOS.

Oh okay. So much confusion for me. So even if my memory kit is on the QVL list for RR (which I think it is but how would I know for sure) the BIOS is only going to boot up at it's.....hmmmm.....whats the best word here...."base speed"?

I've been talking about my 3000MHz chips as though that WAS the rating of the chips. But now that you mention it, CPU-Z reports my SPD->Max Bandwidth as "DDR4-2132 (1066MHz)".

So many vague words being tossed around.

So my 3000MHz memory is actually "rated @ 2133MHz" but will O.C. to 3000MHz. ASRock BIOS will never use an XMP speed but rather the unoverclocked "rated" speed by default? I see, yes, it makes sense now. Since that's what it did before I changed it to use XMP manually.

But answer me this question. What's the point of having it set to "Auto" in the BIOS for XMP? I thought "Auto" meant something like "find me the highest stable speed you can by looking at the XMP data on the memory chips." So, "Auto" just means, use the default unoverclocked speed?

Good stuff to know if I am hearing you right. Like I said, it was pain in the neck to get my chips running stable @2934MHz. I wish ASRock would see my model number on my chips and then use that data to get the fastest speeds. And set that data for me automatically.

I guess until we get an equivalent from AMD to Intels XMP data we will have to do it the hard way for a bit longer.



Edited by PatriotVipers - 01 May 2018 at 9:52am
System: AMD 2200G, ASRock AB350M Pro4, 16GB(2x8GB) 3000MHz Patriot Vipers (running @ 2134MHz *crying*).
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 3.000 seconds.