ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X370 Taichi with Beta L4.64
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

X370 Taichi with Beta L4.64

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
Cuba1hr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 May 2018
Location: Croatia
Status: Offline
Points: 35
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cuba1hr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jun 2018 at 2:32am
Of course. New Windows 10 installation on formatted SSD after every MBO change. Last time I tried Memtest there were no errors. I cannot test freaking thing for hours (8-9 I think) on every single change in UEFI. It passes memtest to get BSOD after that.

It takes time to test 32GB. There used to be errors on some tighter timings (below 16-18-18) then when I tried at 2133 everything went OK for 4 passes.
Now when I make a change in UEFI, I run AIDA64 stability test, memory only (other things passed fine earlier) for about an hour. If some setting it doesn't like, it usually stops the test or BSOD within 5 minutes of start.

I am mad because it passes memory test, works for 2-3 days under load & then BOOM! Why the freaking thing passes memtest to crash after 3 days... I woke up because I heard it idling (on welcome screen), cursed it again and set up UEFI at 4.30 this morning, running stability test till 6 a.m. and went to work. I go through same procedure every second or third night.

I was unaware of this problems when I bought RAM in early April last year when Ryzen just arrived.
I paid about 285USD year and some ago so I don't want to wait till it's sold (I was selling my 1700X for over a month and lowered my initial price by 100$!!!) and lose money to be getting the "same" thing (OK, faster Samsung? 2x16GB) I already have for almost 550USD...and still 16GB modules are dual rank=problems again (or lower speeds, higher timings). I could get 2x8GB but I need more than 16 for VMs and other things. My 6-7 year old PC has 16GB. I was even thinking of 64GB when prices normalize one day but more than 2 modules bring another handful of problems on Ryzen platform.

For an year I was hoping, first at Gigabyte camp, now at ASRock's for them to do something for us suckers with Hynix. But still nothing - 14 MONTHS!!! They did something positive on 4.40 and then screwed everything up again (I blame both AMD & ASRock). I still follow Gigabyte forum, there's still not grass greener on the other side either.
ASRock Taichi X370 UEFI v4.81; AMD Ryzen R7 2700X; Noctua NH-U12S x2 fans; Corsair Vengenace LPX 3000 2x16GB (CMK16GX4M1B3000C15); EVGA GeForce GTX1070 FTW; Corsair RM750i PSU
Back to Top
ajlueke View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 07 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ajlueke Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Jun 2018 at 9:04pm
Hello,

Have you done a fresh install of Windows 10 (re-partition HDD) since you switched between those different motherboards?

Does your RAM produce any errors on memtest86?
Back to Top
Cuba1hr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 May 2018
Location: Croatia
Status: Offline
Points: 35
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cuba1hr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Jun 2018 at 5:30pm
Update.
I must be boring by now, but now the PC managed to get 2 days of uptime. Really don't know what else to do, except to beg ASRock for new BIOS.

I will increase tRFC values even more. Help, anyone?
ASRock Taichi X370 UEFI v4.81; AMD Ryzen R7 2700X; Noctua NH-U12S x2 fans; Corsair Vengenace LPX 3000 2x16GB (CMK16GX4M1B3000C15); EVGA GeForce GTX1070 FTW; Corsair RM750i PSU
Back to Top
Cuba1hr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 May 2018
Location: Croatia
Status: Offline
Points: 35
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cuba1hr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Jun 2018 at 5:16pm
Hi guys, again.

This time PC managed to go through 3 days and today before 2 a.m. I got another BSOD, without Bug Check String, just ntoskrnl.exe. I am so crazy. I even turned off NTP as a percaution. I pumped DRAMV up to 1.40V now and VDDCR_SOC to 1.0625V. It used to be on Auto and 1.125V earlier if I recall correctly.
Timings for 2933 are as they were: 16-18-18-18-38-56
Increased tRFC to:
tRFC 514
tRFC2 382
tRFC4 236
and ProcODT is all the time set to 80.


Anyone with better idea or suggestion, I would appreciate it.

ASRock Taichi X370 UEFI v4.81; AMD Ryzen R7 2700X; Noctua NH-U12S x2 fans; Corsair Vengenace LPX 3000 2x16GB (CMK16GX4M1B3000C15); EVGA GeForce GTX1070 FTW; Corsair RM750i PSU
Back to Top
Cuba1hr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 May 2018
Location: Croatia
Status: Offline
Points: 35
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cuba1hr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2018 at 3:50am
I am not familiar with 3.0, in shop they installed 3.20 I think when they tested board with my 1700X and my Corsair - they have said it was stable  on 2933 (tested for 1-2 hours I guess) and then shipped the components to me. I had troubles with RAM on that version. Soon there was 4.40 bios and after so many tries on that one it was stable for earlier mentioned 13 days (windows update restarted my computer then).

I cannot reproduce that situation with 4.64 or 4.70 and cannot go back with 2700X. Now the PC is running for 2 days 15hours, raised DRAMV for 0.01V more (1.38V, shown 1.40 in picture), tomorrow morning is the critical period, if the patient survives early morning, it will live:)...but I doubt, every time it's the third day BSOD, just after problem with NTP update...I think. I have seen that in my event viewer before "unexpected restart" few times, don't know if it is correlated, but error more than 90% of time is MEMORY_MANAGEMENT and few IRQL_LESS_OR_NOT_EQUAL.

Here are problematic  MIN & MAX values in CPUID HWMonitor and HWInfo on BIOS 4.64:

ASRock Taichi X370 UEFI v4.81; AMD Ryzen R7 2700X; Noctua NH-U12S x2 fans; Corsair Vengenace LPX 3000 2x16GB (CMK16GX4M1B3000C15); EVGA GeForce GTX1070 FTW; Corsair RM750i PSU
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 23258
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 May 2018 at 2:11pm
So, about a week on and here are my observations:

1. RAM is no more or less stable (with my kit) than 3.0 I was using before the update.
2. RAM latency and R/W speeds are more or less identical to what I achieved with 3.0
3. RAM speeds and timings achievable with the Beta are the same as 3.0 (3333 max stable @CL18)
4. Benchmarks show absolutely no change

I was stable at 3466 on my RAM for about a week then began experiencing the occasional blue screen. With some looser timings I can stop those but at CL18 my timings are not great to begin with so I just dropped to 3333 and set my timings to CL16. 

Bugs?

CPU temps read stupidly high in the UEFI. I am sure there are more but that is the only one that stands out as a potential issue (for some users). A lot of people get scared when they see high temps in the UEFI so this is something that needs addressing IMO. 

Still fine tuning and tweaking. I have yet to do any CPU overclocking, honestly I generally run stock on this system with my poultry GTX 960 there really isn't any point in overclocking anyway.    
Back to Top
Cuba1hr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 May 2018
Location: Croatia
Status: Offline
Points: 35
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cuba1hr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2018 at 6:13pm
Hi again,

just to let you know that my machine didn't even make it to day 3 of uptime on 2800. Got BSOD at 5 a.m. today - Memory_Management again. I'll try 2800 with 16-18-18-36-54, VDIMM 1.37V, VSOC 1.125V, LLC3.

Cannot practically use my PC year now. 1 bad memory stick and two Gigabyte faulty boards (B350 Gaming 3 and X370 Gaming 5)...ended up with Taichi. It was a tough choice between X370 Taichi and Asus ROG Crosshair VI WIFI...and... maybe, I made a wrong choice. I haven't tried the other one.

Earlier today it was 14-16-16-34 on 2800, all on 4.64 BIOS.
ASRock Taichi X370 UEFI v4.81; AMD Ryzen R7 2700X; Noctua NH-U12S x2 fans; Corsair Vengenace LPX 3000 2x16GB (CMK16GX4M1B3000C15); EVGA GeForce GTX1070 FTW; Corsair RM750i PSU
Back to Top
Andrey_Z View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 May 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Andrey_Z Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2018 at 5:28pm
Help me! I need dump BIOS X370 Gaming X.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 23258
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 May 2018 at 5:31pm
Originally posted by Reinvented Reinvented wrote:

I'm still waiting for a fix for sound cut outs in BF1 and PUBG crashing when even overclocked slightly.  It's becoming a bit unacceptable that Summit Ridge is getting left out from updates and what not when the newest AGESA provides vulnerability fixes and what not.  According to James Prior from AMD, the AGESA's are supposed to be a unified BIOS for all 3 product lines.  Really hoping they fix this soon, otherwise I might have to jump ship to another manufacturer.

The beta includes an AGESA update. Ryzen first gen has been both a train-wreck and a resounding success. It does seem that a lot of the issues faced with Ryzen 1k are hardware rooted (chipset, IMC etc) so many of the fixes in the 400 series boards will likely never come to 300 series boards, at least, they won't work the same way. While the AGESA is meant to be common across all AM4 platforms it can't correct hardware level issues. 

All of us on Ryzen first gen are in the same boat. The issues are not specific to ASRock, from what I have seen all manufacturers have struggled with getting AM4 stable, some with better and some with worse success. Worse still is that which boards work best change from one BIOS update to the next. This is why I recommend that if you find a board and BIOS that works as you need, stick with it. I can only hope that we at least see a stable BIOS for every 300 series board, even if there are still quirks (RAM speeds etc).

I haven't got much time today for more testing but I will be going through 4.64 over the next few weeks.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 23258
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 May 2018 at 5:18pm
The naming is probably (I don't know for sure) something to do with version branching. 4.64 was most likely based on 4.6 with the AGESA version updated. 4.7 was probably created along side 4.64 (at the same time).

With beta BIOS names I do know that if a version is L1.43 then it is based on P1.40. Sometimes an earlier branch was found to be more compatible with intended changes. 

Again, this is just my own speculation based on some rather limited understanding of software development but it does seem to fit the BIOS naming. 


As for overclocking, so far as all the reviews seem to be discovering, overclocking the new 2000 series CPUs is pointless. AMD's boost clock system works incredibly well and allows for much higher frequencies on 1 - 3 cores than you can achieve across all cores. This means that for gaming, you are actually far better off leaving things stock as you will get better per core performance with the boost.

If you are running highly threaded productivity tasks then it is more worth overclocking but even then, the gains are not all that great, particularly at the cost of higher thermals and power consumption. In short, the new Ryzen+ CPUs are very good right out of the box, great for more casual users but a little disappointing for those of us that like to fine tune things. That said, you can still tweak all the different performance states and get more out of the system that way.....


Edited by Xaltar - 24 May 2018 at 5:24pm
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.176 seconds.