ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Trouble installing operating system

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jebutler3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Trouble installing operating system
    Posted: 09 Feb 2016 at 1:23am
Hello all,

I am a newbie on computer builds, however I have done some upgrades and minor changes etc., to a few of my other computers.  I have completed my first build.  (I will give the details below)  The build is primarily going to be an HTPC.  I got everything installed and everything powered up perfectly.  I am able to get into the UEFI/BIOS just fine and make changes.  I changed the boot order to USB (I'm installing Windows 10 from the USB stick it came with).  Once I save and exit, the screen will give the splash screen as it always does, but then it goes black, and I have a blinking cursor in the upper left corner.  

I have tried changing multiple settings, changed different USB locations on the board and still the same thing. I really don't believe there is an issue with the hardware, just a setting I am missing or doing incorrectly.

ALL help would be GREATLY appreciated.

Here is my setup... 
Brand new hardware:
ASRock FM2A88X-ITX+
AMD A6 6400K 3.9GHz
Hyper X 4GB DDR3 1600 (1 Stick)
Kingston SSD now300 120GB SATA HD
Antec ISK300-150 Case
Windows 10 (on USB)
LG Blu-ray (currently not installed)
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Feb 2016 at 4:54am
Instead of changing the boot order in the BIOS

1. First set the Kingston SSD as number 1, no need here now for booting from usb