ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - What happened to Fatality X399 Bios 1.60?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

What happened to Fatality X399 Bios 1.60?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345>
Author
Message
LurkerLito View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 46
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LurkerLito Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Sep 2017 at 11:00pm
Yeah nothing to be concerned about overall but it's a preference for the control freaks in people who want to see things like this stress test not stressing core X and Y as much. Wink
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1097
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Sep 2017 at 2:00am
LurkerLito, I just did a Prime95 run with default settings.  Here is my maximum reading from AIDA64:
Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
LurkerLito View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 46
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LurkerLito Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Sep 2017 at 2:52am
Nice temp at around a 3.7 clock.

Edit: Hmm. loaded up Aida64 and I am doing a 1080p HEVC encode to test it's speed and my reading says - CPU 40c and CPU Diode 86c That's at a 3.8Ghz clock @ 1.28v. In Coretemp each core is at 55-57 as the load adjusts over all the cores.

Edit 2: looks like it's a problem with the current release version of Aida64. The beta is giving me the right temps at the CPU diode.


Edited by LurkerLito - 26 Sep 2017 at 9:30am
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Sep 2017 at 11:22am
Originally posted by MisterJ MisterJ wrote:

LurkerLito, I just did a Prime95 run with default settings.


VelociRaptor?

What? It's not already warm enough inside the case, or what? Tongue
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Sep 2017 at 12:50pm
Originally posted by MisterJ MisterJ wrote:

LurkerLito, I cannot find them in my licensed copy of AIDA64 either.  I will see if I can find out if they are available.  In past AMD processors core temps never worked correctly.  Enjoy, John.


I'll say... the first AMD processor I've had in a long time, an FX-9590, surprised me with its processor temperature readings. Not the actual values, but what was provided. It did not provide individual core temperatures.

I'll need to check Coretemp on my Ryzen system, but I am skeptical about the core temperature readings. If HWiNFO64 does not show them for Ryzen, then I doubt they are available. If they are available for Ryzen, then that is new for AMD processors which haven't had them for quite a while.

Back to Top
LurkerLito View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 46
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LurkerLito Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Sep 2017 at 9:47pm
It does seem to work with coretemp with the latest version (1.10.2). The thing is it isn't in the main interface if you let it go to the tray it will show all 16 mini icons there with the actual temp of each core but that is a terrible place for it. So if you use the gadget you can keep it on screen in an easier to see way. You may or may not need 8gadgetpack to enable gadgets in Win 10, MS IIRC disabled gadgets in win 7 for security reasons at one point, but I personally love having the gadgets up on the side of my screen so I use 8gadgetpack.

Though I will say the coretemp readings look good, but the readings lag behind from time to time when under full load. And another thing the power usage seems to not work so it's not completely working. Aida64 seems to work better as far as updating the info goes, but doesn't show all cores individually but it's voltage readings look correct and update properly (at least in the latest beta).

Not seeing all the core temps individually isn't that big a deal IMHO. Unlike my i7-3770k it seems that all of the cores in Threadripper seem to be linked and they rarely go out of sync from my observations the past two days. When I was doing test benchmarking with a 3d renderer only once or twice did I see a core or two have a 1c difference between the rest and it only lasted for a second. Even idle my i7-3770k has 4 different changing temps all the time.
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1097
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Sep 2017 at 11:05pm
wardog, the VelociRaptor is a left over label from a previous system.  I bring my settings along from build to build.  It is actually a WD Black.  I have used many V-Raptors and do not think they are a heat problem at all.
LukerLito, I know AIDA64 is being updated often trying to support all the new boards and keep up the constantly changing BIOSs.  I try to stay current with the Betas.  When you see something funny, click on Report-Submit a report to FinalWire.
Enjoy, John.


Edited by MisterJ - 27 Sep 2017 at 2:05am
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Sep 2017 at 1:19am
velociraptors in raid hmmmmmmmm 
computer porn and such a bragging rights


and then they invented a ssd ....................

wierdly enough the mrs an i were just discussing how a mobile phone now comes with a sdcard 40 times the size of our old pc hard drive
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
SoniC View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 23 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 183
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SoniC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Oct 2017 at 11:49pm
New BIOS for ASRock FPG & Taichi X399 -- 1.70.
But since they only mention the new NVME Raid functionality I assume it will behave exactly the same as 1.60 & 1.61 in regard of memory support & compatibility (quad channel is still worse than x370 (my 16GBx4 sticks reach only 2933 and on x370 -- full speed 3200 CL14), and 8 channel is nearly non-functional populated with 16GB modules).
-=SoniC=-
TR x1950, ASRock X399 FPG (v. 3.33A), G.Skill 3200 CL14 64GB, Enermax LiqTech 280,
AMD Vega 64 LC, 10x HDDs (mostly Hitachi), 2x M.2 (970EVO,960Pro), Xonar DX, AX1200i PSU
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1097
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Oct 2017 at 3:28am
SoniC, 1.70 has AGESA 1.0.0.3, so I assume your assumption is correct.  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.267 seconds.