ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - TPM 2.0 support and Windows 11 (intel)
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

TPM 2.0 support and Windows 11 (intel)

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 8838
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: TPM 2.0 support and Windows 11 (intel)
    Posted: 25 Jun 2021 at 9:13pm
Hi all, just a quick sticky here to help save our community members some time.

TPM 2.0 was implemented on the Skylake platform (intel). If your board is older
than intel's 100 series (H110 - Z170) then it does not support TPM 2.0 and will
not be compatible with Windows 11.

I hope this helps. I am looking into the AMD side of things too and will make a
similar sticky in our AMD section when I have the info.

Edited by Xaltar - 25 Jun 2021 at 9:14pm
Back to Top
wafac View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Jun 2021
Status: Offline
Points: 50
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wafac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jun 2021 at 2:43am
TPM 2.0 is the soft floor for Windows 11, but technically systems with at least TPM 1.2 will be allowed to upgrade (but there will be a notification that it is not recommended)

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/compatibility/windows-11/
Back to Top
Kolchak View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Jun 2021
Status: Offline
Points: 30
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Kolchak Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jun 2021 at 3:54am
ASRock Support Request Form is currently broken so I came here. ASRock does not list any TPM accessories and the one at ASRock Rack has a different pin keyed.   
Back to Top
T1125P View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 08 Sep 2018
Location: New York
Status: Offline
Points: 472
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote T1125P Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jun 2021 at 5:13am
Originally posted by Xaltar Xaltar wrote:

Hi all, just a quick sticky here to help save our community members some time.

TPM 2.0 was implemented on the Skylake platform (intel). If your board is older
than intel's 100 series (H110 - Z170) then it does not support TPM 2.0 and will
not be compatible with Windows 11.

I hope this helps. I am looking into the AMD side of things too and will make a
similar sticky in our AMD section when I have the info.




Thank you so much I was about to make a thread in the AMD section about the x470 and TPM 2.0. I think that's found in the security section of the BIOS.
x470 Taichi v4.70
5950x (Scythe Mugen 5 Rev.B)
G.SKILL Flare X Series (8GBx4) 32GB 3200 CL14
970 Evo 1TB
EVGA RTX 3070 XC3 ULTRA
Sound Blaster AE-7
EVGA 850W Platinuim
LG WH16NS40
ASUS PG259QN
Back to Top
RLGL View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Jul 2018
Location: MN
Status: Offline
Points: 930
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RLGL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jun 2021 at 5:47am
Originally posted by Kolchak Kolchak wrote:

ASRock Support Request Form is currently broken so I came here. ASRock does not list any TPM accessories and the one at ASRock Rack has a different pin keyed.   


See the first post. What board do you have? If it is too old you may be SOL. Possibly an adapter card may be found.
Asrock Z370 Gaming K6,Intel i7 8700K,
Asrock x570 Taichi

Back to Top
Ulises Noega View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 26 Jun 2021
Location: Spain
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ulises Noega Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jun 2021 at 7:36am
Hi, I have a motherboard X299 Killer SLI/ac (https://www.asrock.com/mb/intel/X299%20Killer%20SLIac/index.asp). It doesn't have tpm but it has a tpm header. Which are my options?
Back to Top
wafac View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Jun 2021
Status: Offline
Points: 50
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wafac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jun 2021 at 12:40pm
Originally posted by wafac wafac wrote:

TPM 2.0 is the soft floor for Windows 11, but technically systems with at least TPM 1.2 will be allowed to upgrade (but there will be a notification that it is not recommended)

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/compatibility/windows-11/



Just an update, Windows just changed their requirements to make TPM 2.0 a HARD requirement.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 8838
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jun 2021 at 5:57pm
Until there is an official launch I suspect much is still open to change. There
has been a lot of backlash against requiring TPM, essentially forcing users to
upgrade if their system doesn't support the requisite version. I fully expect it
won't take long for workarounds and such to come to light.
Back to Top
Skylinestar View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Apr 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 29
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Skylinestar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jun 2021 at 6:39pm
Where can I buy TPM2 chip? I can't find any in the market. My board is a Z170 K6.
http://www.asrock.com/mb/spec/card.asp?Model=TPM-S%20Module
- ASrock Z170 Fatal1ty Gaming K6 (BIOS v2.10)
- Intel Core i5 6500 (stock)
- Corsair Vengeance LPX 4GBx2 (CMK8GX4M2A2666C16R) (2133 stock)
- Crucial M4 128GB SSD (CT128M4SSD2)
- Corsair GS700 PSU
Back to Top
DRob View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02 Jul 2021
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DRob Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jul 2021 at 10:26am
Originally posted by Skylinestar Skylinestar wrote:

Where can I buy TPM2 chip? I can't find any in the market. My board is a Z170 K6.
http://www.asrock.com/mb/spec/card.asp?Model=TPM-S%20Module


Z170 K4 Here...Same issue. No modules to be found.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.092 seconds.